Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

Toyota DD/Rig

9K views 83 replies 25 participants last post by  7mRunner 
#1 ·
Always wanted a pickup and i finally got one.

Basics:
1987 Toyota 4x4 p/u
IFS
22re
5spd
4in?? body lift:( but i'm a high school student and i want to throw my 3 mo old 31's under there... the body lift stays until i can afford to replace it with suspension.

The truck runs phenomenally and has very little rust on it.

Plans: drive it to school and back and hopefully through college. Some light wheeling here and there, mostly two track type stuff.

Dream: Total Chaos up front and deaver leas out back. But thats way in the future.

Got rid of this: It was literally falling apart around me and wasn't at all dependable so it went back to my father to sit a few more years in the garage

The TOYOTA

See less See more
#6 ·
the 31's will easily fit as is right now could clear bigger. would probably clear the 31's with the BL gone. i might try to get rid of it sometime this summer. we'll see.

need wider rims for the 31's. dont see the 10.5in tire going well with a 6in wide rim.

Is it possible though to cut the body lift spacers down to a normal height or do i have to buy new spacers?

#5 ·
I have a 84 with 3-4 in of body lift. Clears 33s and looks like maybe 35s
I am in the same boat as you waiting untill I have the time to cut the body lift off and put a suspension on it. So far it has been a fun little truck and has only been almost ripped in half once.

#10 ·
jeeperbrian, the cj will probably sit around for a few years then i'll get it back/buy it cheap to wheel the piss out of it:thumb:. at least i hope so. as far as good luck the Toyota has had less problems in two weeks than the cj did in 24hrs

then again,i think thats why i drive a toyota now. Its actually starts every morning

#13 ·
but ditch the rear bumper :poke: