Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest banner

Geo Tracker 4x4 help.

4K views 36 replies 10 participants last post by  Yota Bill 
#1 ·
Ok I bought my wife a 93 Geo tracker and she loves it however it's not four wheel drive. And now I just bought a 92 geo tracker 4x4 but it has a broke tranny. Is it going to be easier for me to make the 93 a 4x4 by changing over the four wheel drive stuff from the 92 or would it be easier for me to take the transmission from the 93 and put it in the 92? Both have the same engine in them but one says A2 and the other says A3. I hope that made sence, thanks for the help.

#2 ·
I'm no expert on this as I am sure its been done both ways. I remember them being like Jeep 2wds. they had all the holes just none of the parts. I would think it can be done with a little effort?

#22 ·
I've got a manual trans with case sitting here if you want to go that route...dont have a Tracker anymore, but my nephew still does, which is the only reason I kept it. He's looking to get something different before much longer, so no need for me to keep this sitting around

#23 ·
Ok guys getting started on this project today. I just went out and started it. The tcase was in N I put it in 2H and the Geo moved about 2 inches when I gave it a little gas then didn't move any more. I tried the tcase in 2h 4h and 4l with the same results. I'm going to go mess with it a little more. It does have clean looking transmission fluid in it.

So what's my next step in this project. Is it going to be easier for me to pull the tcase and 4x4 stuff off this one and put it on my wifes 2wd or should I pull her tranny and put it in the 4wd one?
thanks for the hep

#24 ·