swapping a 4.0L i6 Head - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #1
namesmud
Senior Member
 
namesmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-21-06
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default swapping a 4.0L i6 Head

Hey -

Ive got this 91 XJ Cherokee that had overheated and cracked the head -

I was going to get another head and bolt it on replace the head gasket and call it good ...
Now my question is ..
Will this work ? Or does everything need to be matched somehow to the engine?
Do i have to take the new head to a machine shop and have them make sure its good ?? Or will they need both the head and the engine to do this ?

Does the head have to be all revalved and everything ?

Kind of a backyard mechanic so I dont really know all this stuff..

I tried to just replace the bad head gasket and bolt it all back together but it didnt work... the engine runs really ruff.. the crack was between cylinders... not actually on a cylinder so i thought it would still be ok ...???
Also didnt put all the really hard to get to bolts back in the intake manifold...
will this affect it alot ?
namesmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 26th, 2008, 03:47 PM   #2
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

not putting all the bolts in will make a big difference, that's why there are so many and a torque sequence your supposed to follow! I'm guessing that you prolly f'd up your new head gasket by not putting all the bolts in. Just bolting on a different head would do no more damage or be no more risky then what you already did IMO
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 03:56 PM   #3
Pokerob
hug life
 
Pokerob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-25-06
Location: G-Rap, MI
Posts: 10,147
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Pokerob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 04:24 PM   #4
2JEEPS
Master Tech
 
2JEEPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-11-06
Location: Battle Creek Mi
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Cyl head tech

I recommend that any used head should be ckecked over by a machine shop. The intake and exhaust manifold bolts are very important that they are tightend properly (they suck to do) The block only needs to be cleaned well along with any other gasket surfaces. You may have a vacuum leak at the intake causing the rough running.
2JEEPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 12:56 PM   #5
namesmud
Senior Member
 
namesmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-21-06
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

K .. Just to make it clear ...

The BOLTS ON THE HEAD ARE ALL INSTALLED/TORQUED to Speck !!!!

Its the bolts that hold on the exhaust / Intake that I chinched out on cause there impossible to get to !!
namesmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 12:57 PM   #6
namesmud
Senior Member
 
namesmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-21-06
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If anyone has a Head thats not F-ed ... Let me know ! By F-ed ... I mean Cracked/warped !
Thanks
namesmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 04:35 PM   #7
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by namesmud View Post
K .. Just to make it clear ...

The BOLTS ON THE HEAD ARE ALL INSTALLED/TORQUED to Speck !!!!

Its the bolts that hold on the exhaust / Intake that I chinched out on cause there impossible to get to !!
Ok but without having the intake torqued to spec could still cause it to suck air and be causing the problems!
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 04:38 PM   #8
xjmichigan
Senior Member
 
xjmichigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 4,328
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

If you got the bolts out, you surly can get the bolts in.
xjmichigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 05:09 PM   #9
Rocky
AAA GOLD ROCKS!!!!!
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Macomb
Posts: 8,512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Take it to a shop since it beyond your capabilities to do the job corectly.
Rocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 01:40 PM   #10
namesmud
Senior Member
 
namesmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-21-06
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i will punch you ! job correctly .... I got a Job for You !
namesmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 06:13 PM   #11
Motor Slut
I put the Ick in Dick.
 
Motor Slut's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: 49963
Posts: 2,411
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by namesmud View Post
Its the bolts that hold on the exhaust / Intake that I chinched out on cause there impossible to get to !!
I have installed 6 exhaust manifolds on 4.0L jeeps in my day and I have never had a problem getting to the bolts on the manifolds.
Motor Slut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2008, 07:51 PM   #12
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by namesmud View Post
i will punch you ! job correctly .... I got a Job for You !
What Rocky meant to say was take it to a shop because you are obviously unwilling to do the job correctly.

You asked for help. People told you what you did wrong. If you're not willing to do it right, we're willing to let you fail.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2008, 08:20 AM   #13
Enginecraft
Custom engine machining
 
Enginecraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-07
Location: Goodrich, MI
Posts: 185
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What's the 4 digit casting # on the head by the valve cover rail. I might have one.
Enginecraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 05:56 PM   #14
namesmud
Senior Member
 
namesmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-21-06
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Its says 7120 on it then further down it says L07 -

Whats the deal with the casting numbers ? Do i have to find another head with the same casting number ?

What if the numbers dont match ?

Also i have never dont this before so do i need to do anything to a doner head before i bolt it on ?
How do heads crack ? Trying to figure out how this happened !
My feeling is it over heated and cracked..
namesmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 09:57 PM   #15
brewmenn
Grumpy old man.
 
brewmenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Inkster, MI
Posts: 10,463
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Year............Casting No
1987-90......2686
1991-95......7120
1996-98......0630
1999-04......0331

Any 7120 should work. a 0630 would work but you won't have a place for the temp sensor.

http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=661
brewmenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2008, 09:20 AM   #16
namesmud
Senior Member
 
namesmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-21-06
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok - Soo I need one from a 91-95 .. .good thing i found that out ..
I was about to buy a head from a 98 ! Didnt even know ... thought they were all the same !

How about head gaskets ... Do i need a all metal gasket or is the murrays gasket fine ?

Thanks !
namesmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2008, 11:42 PM   #17
xjmichigan
Senior Member
 
xjmichigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 4,328
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Remember,
Head bolts are torque to yield and should not be reused. For all the work you have done change them.
xjmichigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 02:07 AM   #18
scorpiansniper
engine / paint tech
 
scorpiansniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-07
Location: pinckney
Posts: 73
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scorpiansniper
Default

keep a couple things in mind too to different of a head gasket can change compression ratio to try to stick with oem unless you have in head or block machined also if you don't put all the bolts back in the intake manifold it'll prob run like shit cause diamler Chrysler has always used map sensors and still are to calculate air fuel ratio so having bolts loose or missing in the air intake will throw this off.
scorpiansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 04:40 AM   #19
jeepnxj96
Senior Member
 
jeepnxj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: Allegan,Mi
Posts: 2,978
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

sounds like you should just have someone do the work for you. just reading this post and your comments i wouldn't let you touch any vehicle that needed work.at the very least have someone there who knows what they are doing. a job isn't worth doing if you don't do it the correct way.
jeepnxj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.26151 seconds with 78 queries