help with iPod nano - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14th, 2008, 11:04 AM   #1
zjguy721
Insomniac
 
zjguy721's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-13-06
Location: Hartland/Milford, MI
Posts: 1,117
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default help with iPod nano

Just got a new nano, and it shuts down iTunes when I plug it in. I have had a shuffle for a couple of years, and haven't had any issues. Does it matter that I use it with a shuffle already? iTunes can be on, and as soon as I plug in the nano, it shuts down.

Any ideas?
zjguy721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 14th, 2008, 11:05 AM   #2
mpwal099
Stick it up your ass
 
mpwal099's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-06
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,070
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do you have the latest version of iTunes installed?
mpwal099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 12:26 PM   #3
JEEPR
Playing Possum
 
JEEPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Harrison Township
Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have never messed with Itunes, but I bet it thinks your trying to give music to someone else. I hear it's a real pain in the ass like that, you can only associate 1 Ipod with your Itunes. Maybe you can tell it you got a new Ipod.
JEEPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 12:33 PM   #4
mpwal099
Stick it up your ass
 
mpwal099's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-06
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,070
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEPR View Post
I have never messed with Itunes, but I bet it thinks your trying to give music to someone else. I hear it's a real pain in the ass like that, you can only associate 1 Ipod with your Itunes. Maybe you can tell it you got a new Ipod.
You can associate more than 1 at a time. We have 3 on one iTunes. The new Nano's are a little goofy. You have to have the ost up to date iTunes and software on the actual Nano in order to operate effectively. Right out of the box I had to update my wifes.
mpwal099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 12:38 PM   #5
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,532
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpwal099 View Post
You can associate more than 1 at a time. We have 3 on one iTunes. The new Nano's are a little goofy. You have to have the ost up to date iTunes and software on the actual Nano in order to operate effectively. Right out of the box I had to update my wifes.
x2

I am trying to figure this stuff out as well.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 12:58 PM   #6
zjguy721
Insomniac
 
zjguy721's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-13-06
Location: Hartland/Milford, MI
Posts: 1,117
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well, it finally worked this morning. Basically, I "ejected" it from the desktop, then let it charge fully (3 hours). Then, restarted PC, got my registration notice from Apple, and worked fine.

Do you think the reg thru Apple was the thing? Dunno, but works fine now (with both iPods).

And yes, I did have 7.5 loaded. And yes, it did need to update its software as soon as it logged itself in.
zjguy721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 01:13 PM   #7
mpwal099
Stick it up your ass
 
mpwal099's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-05-06
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,070
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zjguy721 View Post
Well, it finally worked this morning. Basically, I "ejected" it from the desktop, then let it charge fully (3 hours). Then, restarted PC, got my registration notice from Apple, and worked fine.

Do you think the reg thru Apple was the thing? Dunno, but works fine now (with both iPods).

And yes, I did have 7.5 loaded. And yes, it did need to update its software as soon as it logged itself in.

Your problem was not letting it fully charge to begin with. You have to do that with the iPods (and other mp3 players).
mpwal099 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13858 seconds with 42 queries