Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > 4x4 Product reviews and how-to's
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 8th, 2007, 11:19 AM   #21
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by victorymike View Post
You mentioned making just the box...I'd be interested in that for sure. Then all I'd need is the cables and manual throttle. You got me fired up on my project again. Thanks!

Let us know how much you'd like for the box so I can get it together and send you some $.
To build a control panel, fully wired (you would just need to run the trigger to 12v and to the alt and hook up the cables from the alternator) it would be $125.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 11:38 AM   #22
itselliott
Senior Member
 
itselliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-20-06
Location: Walhalla
Posts: 1,806
iTrader: (80)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Super write up!...............Should be a permanant stickey in the tech forum!
itselliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 12:22 PM   #23
BMFmike
meh.
 
BMFmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Grand Haven
Posts: 7,816
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brimy311 View Post
To build a control panel, fully wired (you would just need to run the trigger to 12v and to the alt and hook up the cables from the alternator) it would be $125.
Not bad for the person that touches a dead wire and gets shocked.
BMFmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 01:57 PM   #24
jared
Can't Worry About It
 
jared's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-30-06
Location: Riverview Mi
Posts: 1,068
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

have you tested out the outlets yet? or is it an ac alternator.

my understanding would be that a normal alt. is a/c current but is rectified to dc using the six diodes in the alternator. so your outlets would have power, but only dc power and not a/c current and 60 hz that any standard electrical device uses.

maybe i am overlooking something
jared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 02:09 PM   #25
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jared View Post
have you tested out the outlets yet? or is it an ac alternator.

my understanding would be that a normal alt. is a/c current but is rectified to dc using the six diodes in the alternator. so your outlets would have power, but only dc power and not a/c current and 60 hz that any standard electrical device uses.

maybe i am overlooking something
Yes you are. He already addressed it.

Only works with brushed motors.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 02:32 PM   #26
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

I also thought that the Alt would put out AC voltage, but once I tested it with a voltmeter it would not ready any AC voltage. It will only read DC voltage. So you actually are geting 110v of DC voltage. This is the reason why you can only run Brush driven type AC motors. Ie: Drills, and Grinders.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 03:11 PM   #27
victorymike
Geocache Addict
 
victorymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Could you please PM me your address and name so I can send you $125 for that control box? That is really worth it to me. It looks fantastic! Will a money order be okay?
victorymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 03:37 PM   #28
KartRacer
Blowd up
 
KartRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-16-05
Location: Riverside, MI 49084
Posts: 6,335
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to KartRacer
Default

Don't forget to mention the Dewalt grinder brushes.
KartRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 05:18 PM   #29
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

Just to help explain a few of the weird posts:

Don't do this:


I was having a hard time getting the voltage, it was mostly because I was using the voltmeter to look for AC voltage. I thought maybe that there was an internal regulartor screwing me. I pulled it apart to find nothing.

While re-assembling this alternator, I must have not got the back brush in correctly. It took a crap at flat nasty and would no longer put out any voltage. We stole a brush from kart racers grinder and made a spring out of mechanics wire. It worked for about 5 minutes and then died I went and picked up a new alternator today and installed it. Everything works great.

So, don't tear it apart! lol. If it is a Big case Ford Alternator. It will not be internally regularted at all.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 05:18 PM   #30
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,301
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

hahaha, nice....


I have one 90% completed, just need to mount the alternator and the box.

Looks good though, and better weld than I would have expected
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 05:51 PM   #31
toolmantim
Go lil yellow Roobicon...
 
toolmantim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-22-06
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 1,958
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brimy311 View Post
So, don't tear it apart! lol. If it is a Big case Ford Alternator. It will not be internally regularted at all.
Yep. The 70's Chryslers used mostly externally regulated alternators also. The housing looks like a cage. Mounting options can suck with these though.

Great write up.

I can see the paper clip, how could you not put it back together properly???:tonka:
__________________
I'm compensating for my manhood.

Northwest Ohio Crawlers
toolmantim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2007, 02:05 PM   #32
TopHeavy
Yikes!
 
TopHeavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: New Hudson, MI
Posts: 1,416
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Good write-up.
__________________
Buy My CJ7
TopHeavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2007, 02:28 PM   #33
thormxboy420
FOUNDRY RATT
 
thormxboy420's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-07
Location: Ludington, MI
Posts: 544
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to thormxboy420
Default

great job man, good work
thormxboy420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 01:56 PM   #34
jared
Can't Worry About It
 
jared's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-30-06
Location: Riverview Mi
Posts: 1,068
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brimy311 View Post
I also thought that the Alt would put out AC voltage, but once I tested it with a voltmeter it would not ready any AC voltage. It will only read DC voltage. So you actually are geting 110v of DC voltage. This is the reason why you can only run Brush driven type AC motors. Ie: Drills, and Grinders.
well it would put out 3 phase a/c voltage if you removed the diode pack form it, but then the frequency of it would vary with rpm, and would be useless

i see onlu brush type motors now. thanks for the reply back
jared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 09:20 PM   #35
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jared View Post
well it would put out 3 phase a/c voltage if you removed the diode pack form it, but then the frequency of it would vary with rpm, and would be useless

i see only brush type motors now. thanks for the reply back
There is No diode pack in this alternator. It is an Externally regulated alternator, so if you don't have the regulator hooked up you can get max voltage out of the alternator. No alternator puts out any form of AC voltage, because in order to get AC voltage you would need a motor with two windings.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 09:46 PM   #36
landrollover
Senior Member
 
landrollover's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-30-07
Location: Big Rapids/Maryland
Posts: 703
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to landrollover
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brimy311 View Post
There is No diode pack in this alternator. It is an Externally regulated alternator, so if you don't have the regulator hooked up you can get max voltage out of the alternator. No alternator puts out any form of AC voltage, because in order to get AC voltage you would need a motor with two windings.
The rectifier is what changes the current from ac to dc, your ford alternator has one. Its the part under the stator windings in your picture.

Rectifier operation
landrollover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 08:40 AM   #37
brimy311
Smells like a Fork Liftis
 
brimy311's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kzoo, mi
Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brimy311
Default

hmmm, weird. I was totally misunderstanding the inside of this thing.

I found this PDF this morning: Autoshop 101 understanding the Alternator:
http://www.autoshop101.com/forms/alt_bwoh.pdf

Good read. Clears up alot.
__________________
JcrOffroad.com
Like us on Faceook!
brimy311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 02:50 PM   #38
victorymike
Geocache Addict
 
victorymike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yeah...rectified...not regulated. That is what I read.
victorymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 09:09 PM   #39
David
Newbie
 
Join Date: 02-05-06
Location: Sheboygan Wisconsin
Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Maybe a dumb question, but is it possible to weld on your own vehicle? Or will it cause problems? I have seen welders that you can and can't weld on your own vehicle. Just wondering, and again thank you for all of this information.
David



PLease, does anybody know this? I got mine built and works nice, but I would like to know if I can weld on my own before I try it.

Last edited by David; December 16th, 2007 at 12:23 PM.
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2008, 11:34 AM   #40
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,289
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Have you thought of putting a smaller pulley on the alternator? That way you would not have to rev the motor so high.
firehawk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > 4x4 Product reviews and how-to's
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.22464 seconds with 52 queries