Comcast cable? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:44 PM   #1
Ice Princess
I'm just here
 
Ice Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Lapeer
Posts: 1,308
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Ice Princess Send a message via MSN to Ice Princess
Default Comcast cable?

I have one cable out-let. From that I have a 3 way splitter. One for the living room (which works fine, gets all the channels), one for the computer (also works fine), and the 3rd for the TV's in the bedrooms.... those has issues. For what ever reason the bedrooms don't get channel 2, 4, sometimes 7??
I don't get it, why do the other channels come in fine and those don't?
And ideas? Or should I call Comcast?
Ice Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:48 PM   #2
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Buy a booster.

Actually, I have a couple extras.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:49 PM   #3
Cube
Captain of my pants
 
Cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 4,158
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

does the splitter look cheap, how do the cable ends look? compression or crimp on?
Cube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:50 PM   #4
Ice Princess
I'm just here
 
Ice Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Lapeer
Posts: 1,308
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Ice Princess Send a message via MSN to Ice Princess
Default

Cable and splitters are good.
Ice Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:53 PM   #5
rallyemore
Snowman
 
rallyemore's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to rallyemore
Default

Is that the longest wire? it could be that it's loosing strength the longer it gets.
rallyemore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:54 PM   #6
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,699
iTrader: (56)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Its most likely the cables. We have had similar issues with the low numbers, especially 4, at the end of a long run of cheap cable.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:54 PM   #7
Cube
Captain of my pants
 
Cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 4,158
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

the lower channels like 2 come in a lower freq. so that is why some lower channels might work and your higher will work, usally its the other way around tho, the higher channels aka freq has greater lose and you lose chanels there, sounds like your drop might have water in it if everything else is fine
Cube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 08:59 PM   #8
Ice Princess
I'm just here
 
Ice Princess's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Lapeer
Posts: 1,308
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Ice Princess Send a message via MSN to Ice Princess
Default

Cool... yeah the cable probably should be thicker.
Ice Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:05 PM   #9
Cube
Captain of my pants
 
Cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 4,158
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

hehe ok more question you said bedrooms and tvs so there has to be another splitter, what kind of splitter are those off of, if you have a normal three way right off the bad your lost should be 5.5 dbmv off each leg and if you have another 2 way for maybe two bedrooms you will be loosing a another 3.5 dbmv off each leg and sounds like you have old RG59 running in your apartment so even 100 ft of that you could be loosing 10dbmv, but like I said you should be loosing your higher channels before your lower ones unless you have a drop problem
Cube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:19 PM   #10
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,398
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cube
three way

sorry lost me there
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:22 PM   #11
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if its not already, use RG-6 cable. we had the same problem with the local channels in our house, upgraded to bigger cable (RG-6) and bought a small booster and it was fine.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 09:26 PM   #12
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cube
hehe ok more question you said bedrooms and tvs so there has to be another splitter, what kind of splitter are those off of, if you have a normal three way right off the bad your lost should be 5.5 dbmv off each leg and if you have another 2 way for maybe two bedrooms you will be loosing a another 3.5 dbmv off each leg and sounds like you have old RG59 running in your apartment so even 100 ft of that you could be loosing 10dbmv, but like I said you should be loosing your higher channels before your lower ones unless you have a drop problem

That's why she needs one of these 12 or 15db boosters I have here!
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17578 seconds with 57 queries