Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 25th, 2007, 07:54 PM   #21
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)
never use bosch plugs they are horible try a set of champions and then check you fuel pressure
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 10:26 PM   #22
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooter View Post
Xeleventy kabillion.

Quit screwing around with everything else, and check the pump and filter. :miff:
I know thats not it. Its running RICH. haha
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 10:29 PM   #23
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
I just put a new Temperture sensor in it. It was completely riped apart. I thnk thats why it was running rich. I can't really tell if its running rich still because its dark out. But does anyone know what the sensor behind the alternator is that goes into the block is? Its a one wire sensor. I don't have electric fans and the fans not a clutch. So its not another temperture sensor. I think its the temperture sending unit that tells the guage what the temperture is but im not sure. Autozone didnt know eithier.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 10:29 PM   #24
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
I dont think it could be the Cat because it was runningfine then all the sudden it fell on its face.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 10:29 PM   #25
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
hey AJ , check and make sure ur Thermostat sending unit isnt broken or cracked. My truck had the same symptoms as urs and that's what fixed mine.
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 10:30 PM   #26
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
I just out Champion plugs in it today!!.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 11:36 PM   #27
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)
bosch are still horrible plugs they can cause some strang driveability issues on there own. If you temp sensor was reading wrong it could richen it way out and with how warm it has been probly enough to cause a missfire.
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 08:53 AM   #28
84Scrambler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Lansing
Posts: 5,941
iTrader: (8)
Send a message via AIM to 84Scrambler
I know my ZJ's had 2 temp sensors. One for the gauge and one to the computer. Don't remember which is which though.
84Scrambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 10:02 AM   #29
sonic
Senior Member
 
sonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Holly, MI.
Posts: 416
iTrader: (1)
Yeah I put bosch plugs in my truck and drove it straight to autozone since the guy there swore by them and made him watch me take them back out of my truck and give me the duralast equivilent to champs. Those seem to be working ok. Oh yeah and Cats can just all of a sudden fall apart so dont rule that out. Your problem is not a lack of fuel problem either. Get the desent plugs in there, make sure all your wires are good. Double check the cap and rotor. Do see if your truck dies with the battery disconnected. If your truck is not running right though that can create a charging issue too. I have a couple cases where the truck just need a new coil wit these symptoms and have had a few that need an alternator or fuse for the alternator. you also need to check your oil. Just change it and see if there is any gas in it. Odds are very good that the intake gaskits are leaking since they all do and if its bad enought this could also be your problem. Dont you love working on cars?
sonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 10:25 AM   #30
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic View Post
Yeah I put bosch plugs in my truck and drove it straight to autozone since the guy there swore by them and made him watch me take them back out of my truck and give me the duralast equivilent to champs. Those seem to be working ok. Oh yeah and Cats can just all of a sudden fall apart so dont rule that out. Your problem is not a lack of fuel problem either. Get the desent plugs in there, make sure all your wires are good. Double check the cap and rotor. Do see if your truck dies with the battery disconnected. If your truck is not running right though that can create a charging issue too. I have a couple cases where the truck just need a new coil wit these symptoms and have had a few that need an alternator or fuse for the alternator. you also need to check your oil. Just change it and see if there is any gas in it. Odds are very good that the intake gaskits are leaking since they all do and if its bad enought this could also be your problem. Dont you love working on cars?


Yep, its a pain in the ass. But i love it.lol. Yea I pulled the positve wire off and the truck was still running. Put a new alternator on it. Put Champion plugs in it. Put new wires, distributor cap, and distrbutor rotor. But when I was doing the temperture sensor I found another sensor behind the alternator that goes into the block. I ahve no clue what it is? I think maybe is the Teperture Sending Unit. Because my temperture guage reads nothing.lol. Maybe its not talking right with the computer and making it run weird.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 10:26 AM   #31
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
Quote:
Originally Posted by user name View Post
bosch are still horrible plugs they can cause some strang driveability issues on there own. If you temp sensor was reading wrong it could richen it way out and with how warm it has been probly enough to cause a missfire.
Yea I know I thought they were good. Guess looks and advertiseing looks isnt what I should go by.lol. Yea I put Champions in it now.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 10:49 AM   #32
greatpumpkin
Newbie No More
 
greatpumpkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-06
Location: Allegan Mi
Posts: 1,120
iTrader: (2)
Dude! Dodges run best on champoins!!! I've tried others and I always go back to the champs.
And if you are really tired of dealing with this I know a great mechanic that very good at diagnotics(i'm not god at spelling)He's in Allegan
Trying to help!
greatpumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 11:05 AM   #33
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
dry gas, try it may got water in the fuel system from offroading.
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 11:12 AM   #34
muffinman
Senior Member
 
muffinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-22-06
Location: livonia
Posts: 268
iTrader: (10)
I had the same problem in my mustang after i hit a curb....as it turns out my fuel pump was bad. Hard starting, Bogs down at high rpms, and a goofy check engine light were all symptons i had.
muffinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 12:59 PM   #35
Cooter
Dad Kickin' It OldSkool
 
Cooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-04-05
Location: Chi-caw-go
Posts: 4,504
iTrader: (16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.J.Hall View Post
I know thats not it. Its running RICH. haha

What in your vast deductive reasoning and troubleshooting skills did you use to decide that?

Because you have some fouled plugs??

Dood, quit using the shotgun approach of trying to fix stuff and check your pump and filter.
__________________
Michigan- The Only Great Lakes State South of the Mason-Dixon Line.
Cooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 07:17 PM   #36
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)
A 97 I think is new enough to use only one temp sensor for both the pcm and gauges It would be under the A/C compressor(or in that area) into the intake. you would might see it wile changing a alternator it you temp gauge doesnt work and you saw a broken sender i would fix that first as it is a known problem. I forgot to plug the temp sensor in on mine when i put it back together and it ran like crap
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2007, 10:15 AM   #37
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooter View Post
What in your vast deductive reasoning and troubleshooting skills did you use to decide that?

Because you have some fouled plugs??

Dood, quit using the shotgun approach of trying to fix stuff and check your pump and filter.
Well even when I put new plugs in it, after I let off the crank a bunch of dark gas smelling smoke comes out of the trottle body(had the ari cleaner off of the tuck). Also when ot starts it blows dark smoke everywhere out th back.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2007, 10:16 AM   #38
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
Quote:
Originally Posted by user name View Post
A 97 I think is new enough to use only one temp sensor for both the pcm and gauges It would be under the A/C compressor(or in that area) into the intake. you would might see it wile changing a alternator it you temp gauge doesnt work and you saw a broken sender i would fix that first as it is a known problem. I forgot to plug the temp sensor in on mine when i put it back together and it ran like crap
Ye athe other broken sensor was the sending unit. I fixed it but still have no guage. I think I just have to push it on better.lol.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2007, 10:19 AM   #39
guest
.
 
Join Date: 12-14-06
Location: .
Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to guest
OK EVERYONE. The truck is fixed.lol. It was the coil. We pulled it off because we had no other options. The whole bottom of it was like ruste and cracked and stuff. So we put a new one on and it runs great now. WE didnt think it was the coil because it had good spark. But all the stuff I replaced was bad anyways. soo. But Thank You to everyone. I appreciate it veryyyyyyyyy much. Thanks for takeing time out of your day to help.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2007, 06:13 PM   #40
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)
thank you for posting what it really was.
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.23127 seconds with 52 queries