anyone done this? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 29th, 2007, 09:08 AM   #1
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default anyone done this?

Made their own homemade fuseblock/box? Or relocated the stock 2003ish fuse box from out of the in front of the battery tray location? I was thinking of trying to fashion a new mounting bracket like maybe across the engine compartment along the firewall and also nigging up a secondary fuse box for all the accessories I currently have wired right to the battery. I know painless makes weird electrical stuff, but I'm not sure if they'd do what I'm wanting to do the way I'm thinking.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 29th, 2007, 09:12 AM   #2
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,190
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

might be a better question in the tech section

You can get aftermarket fuseblocks through NAPA or JEGS or something, run one of those in the cab from the battery and run the accessories from it. I wouldn't mess with the IOD fuseblock under the hood unless your just moving it a foot or 2, as I am pretty sure it will be quite the hassle to extend a lot of those wires, and then you open them up to corrosion and all kinds of other stuff.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2007, 09:15 AM   #3
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

The problem with the IOD fuseblock is I have dual yellow tops with a mena green stacked tray. The negative post contacts the power feed into the fusebox when i hit bumps. I can't use the side posts because they'd hit the hood. I can't move the fusebox forward because it will hit the hood.

I'd prefer a fusebox in the engine compartment near the IOD one just to keep them all nearby for access.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2007, 09:19 AM   #4
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,190
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
The problem with the IOD fuseblock is I have dual yellow tops with a mena green stacked tray. The negative post contacts the power feed into the fusebox when i hit bumps. I can't use the side posts because they'd hit the hood. I can't move the fusebox forward because it will hit the hood.

I'd prefer a fusebox in the engine compartment near the IOD one just to keep them all nearby for access.
Problem is I have never seen a water tight aftermarket fuse box, nor one with a cover, I looked for the flatty when I was wiring it. Obviously electrical and water = bad.

As for the IOD one keep in mind that most of the critical stuff on your rig runs through that box, so when you start moving it unless you do a perfect job on the wire extensions you are opening yourself up to a LOT of issues. If you can lower it with a new bracket, or side shift it or something I think you would be better off.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2007, 09:26 AM   #5
General Lee
Slice of Starsage Anyone?
 
General Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 5,070
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to General Lee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
I can't use the side posts because they'd hit the hood. I can't move the fusebox forward because it will hit the hood.
The only problem I see, is that your hood is too small...:stan3:
General Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2007, 09:27 AM   #6
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

hmm, lowering would be nice. I'd have to lift it out and look at the bracket again. I was also thinking about insulating the connection more with something. The cable is bare too far back from the connection point IMO.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14818 seconds with 39 queries