Newbe needs some info - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2007, 08:16 PM   #1
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,810
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Newbe needs some info

hey all,
I am a ford fan, had an 86 bronco stock with 33's. Had a lot of fun with it, went through some pretty thick stuff. I just bought a 96 Eddie Bauer Bronco w/ 150,000 miles. The engine (302) and drive train are stock. It has a 6" susp lift (tuff country) and 2-4" body lift. 15" m/t rims and 37x13.5" m/t-cepek tires w/ warn manual hubs. I am farely new to wheelin with "real" trucks so I am curious from anyone experience what can this truck do. Also any comments or recommendations about what I should do to the truck will be appreciated (unless there coming from a chevy fan, just joking). Also my speedometer is off and the research I did lead me to believe there is nothing i can do but buy a part off the web that changes the elec. pulses to recalibrate it. any tips? thanks
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 1st, 2007, 08:23 PM   #2
Jeeperz Creeperz
GL 4x4 Vendors
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,127
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

It'll be pretty much the same as your other Bronco, but it has bigger tires. The suspensions were the same from 1980-1996. So whatever you did with the other one, you should be able to do a little more with this.

The speed signal is pickedup from a tone ring in the rear axle so you do have to buy an electronic device that intercepts the signal from the rear axle, reprograms it, and sends it on to the cluster. Or you can change the gears to the proper ratio.

Oh, and welcome!
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 08:34 PM   #3
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,810
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thats what i thougth the part is about 200 bucks. do you think it is worth it. With the speed being off isnt that throwing the fuel injection, abs and shift points off.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 08:43 PM   #4
Jeeperz Creeperz
GL 4x4 Vendors
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,127
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver Bullet View Post
Thats what i thougth the part is about 200 bucks. do you think it is worth it. With the speed being off isnt that throwing the fuel injection, abs and shift points off.
It will affect the transmission shifting slightly. But remember, you're actually going faster than what the speedo reads so the trans is really shifting later.

The part is around $160. I've installed a few but have never run one myself (I like having the proper gear instead).
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 09:04 PM   #5
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you can recalibrate the speedo yourself, but it can only be reset I think like 7 times.
http://www.thedieselstop.com/content...%20Calibration
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 09:07 PM   #6
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ok looks like it can be recalibrated 6 times.
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 08:13 AM   #7
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

put some 4.88 gears in it and everthing will be fine. Plus it will keep the engine in its proper RPM range. Not to mention your offroad sucess will be greater.

Oh Hay, Wellcome..........Broncos are Kool
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 09:27 AM   #8
bj house
Senior Member
 
bj house's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-06
Location: Auburn Hills, MI
Posts: 5,289
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Welcome you have a pretty capable wheeler as is. Many opinions on the TTB (twin traction beam front axle) but from what I have seen they will hold up under moderate abuse.

Post some pics
bj house is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 11:13 PM   #9
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,810
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I will post some pics i am in the process of cleaning it up from winter. polishing the rims, bumpers, fog lights and sanding and repainting the black light bar on front bumper. any suggestions for this. every black brush gaurd or step bars i see are rusted. i was going to sand the rust off and re prime and paint black again with a clear coat. also i was told the front axle dana i think 44 can only take a 455 gear if i wanted more i would have to go to a custom dana 60 out of the f250's. also when i do the gears should i do lockers. detroit lockers are pretty expensive but are they worth it compared to others. also i want to get a little more power out of it but i am worried about it have 150000 on it. should i do a cold air intake, exhaust or chip.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 11:20 PM   #10
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,810
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

also the dealer said there is nothing they can do they said they can only reprogram for stock sizes. i dont know if i just went to a dealer and delt with a couple jerks or what. also my buddie actually writes some of the scymatic books for ford and he looked to see if his books said anyhtig but got nothing.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 11:24 PM   #11
Toivo
Feel lucky?
 
Toivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-24-06
Location: Denver
Posts: 5,148
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

First, use punctuation.

Second, IIRC, D44's can be geared as high as 5.13, they are very common and there are lots of gear choices out there.

Detroit lockers are great, but there are many more quality traction products out there as well that are nicer to your wallet. Check out Aussie and Powertrax lunchbox style lockers for the best bang for your buck.
Toivo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 11:46 PM   #12
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,992
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Oly thing I got is if it has a 4 inch body lift.......take it out.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 12:04 AM   #13
frdtrckmnrich
FORD The Best Never Rest
 
frdtrckmnrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-07-06
Location: Fruitport MI
Posts: 3,137
iTrader: (48)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

The dana 44 can hold up to a 5.38 gear with the proper carrier.
One of the first things i would do is to regear. This will correct your speedometer, shift points, save your tranny, and get you back your power loss. Lockers,Posi's etc will severley aid your offroad travels.
frdtrckmnrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 01:04 AM   #14
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 10,348
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default

If its an E4OD then swap in a c6, that trans is junk and will leave u stranded in the mud if you beat it hard.
booblinker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18750 seconds with 63 queries