1999 7.3 V8 diesel no start. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:12 PM   #1
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default 1999 7.3 V8 diesel no start.

Ok, I bought what I thought was a good running diesel f-450 last thursday.

It has sat for a year. It started no problem, drove it from lapeer to my office in auburn hills, and turned it off.

Tried to start it this morning, and no crank.

Anyways, swapped out the batterys to optima red tops, and I have a good crank. The engine is just sputtering and won't fire. I do get the grid heater wait, then the light goes off.

I just sent a guy up to get some new fuel filters. Anything else I should look at, espeically if these filters don't help?

During crank, it will give off some black exhaust, and sputter alittle, but no start.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:27 PM   #2
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,526
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

does the tach move? If not, CPS
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:30 PM   #3
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,607
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

How many miles? If over 100k, glowplugs need replaced.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:31 PM   #4
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,768
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Anywhere you can test to see if you are getting fuel up to the injectors? Just in general, it seems like things that haven't ran for along time, they might start up, but the fuel flowing ends up loosening deposits that have build up over time, then they clog a day or two later.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:32 PM   #5
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,607
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

also, the glowplug solenoid could need replacing.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:34 PM   #6
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,526
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
How many miles? If over 100k, glowplugs need replaced.
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
I do get the grid heater wait, then the light goes off.
How long does the WTS light stay on for?

IIRC, If the WTS light come on for 6+ seconds, at least 6 glow plugs are working. If the WTS light only comes on for 2 seconds or so, then atleast 2 glow plugs have falled. Thats how the older diesels were anyway, not sure on 99+
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:46 PM   #7
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,768
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Would the glow plugs have worked yesterday and then not today?
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:50 PM   #8
FORD FLARESIDE
in hockey, size matters
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 22,068
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

CC,...........Check the Crank Sensor...........
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 03:54 PM   #9
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,607
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Would the glow plugs have worked yesterday and then not today?
If teh crappah GP relay went out, yes.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2007, 04:01 PM   #10
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I had to leave the office. A guy is replacing the filters and draining the tank.

I'm sure it won't work tomorrow, and I will look at how long the WAIT TO START stays on.

I'm pretty sure it was 4 or 5 seconds. Thanks for the help.

Scooter, I see you just said relay. During crank it sounds like a relay is cutting in/out under the hood. Super fast.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 07:43 AM   #11
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Ok, No tach movement.

Any idea where the CPS is located on this thing?
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 07:51 AM   #12
FORD FLARESIDE
in hockey, size matters
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 22,068
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

I had this stupid thing go out on me as well, I guess its been a real problem on the 7.3
Check this web site, they even have pictures for people like me.

http://www.puredieselpower.com/Tech/CPS.pdf

http://www.puredieselpower.com/catal...oke-p-126.html
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 07:59 AM   #13
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FORD FLARESIDE View Post
I had this stupid thing go out on me as well, I guess its been a real problem on the 7.3
Check this web site, they even have pictures for people like me.

http://www.puredieselpower.com/Tech/CPS.pdf

http://www.puredieselpower.com/catal...oke-p-126.html
you rock man!

__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 08:44 AM   #14
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

holy 200 bucks.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 09:19 AM   #15
Viperdave
A-1 Dave Costa
 
Join Date: 03-12-06
Location: Wolcott, Ct
Posts: 1,106
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Viperdave
Default

FYI, its cheaper from an internation/navistar dealer than the ford stealership
Viperdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 09:22 AM   #16
FORD FLARESIDE
in hockey, size matters
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 22,068
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viperdave View Post
FYI, its cheaper from an internation/navistar dealer than the ford stealership
I payed $109 for the last one at a dealership listed above.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 09:31 AM   #17
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,785
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

They Are Cheep Buy Two Throw One In The Glove-box This Will Happen Again My Dad Has Replaced About 8 Of Them On There Fords
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 10:45 AM   #18
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Ok, replaced CPS. Now I'm getting tach bounce.

New fuel filter. Fuel pump is running. Doesn't mean its moving fuel though.

I'm scared to take out the filter and see if fuel is flowing. Will that bowl fill up super fast?

The first 10 seconds of cranking yielded a TON of black smoke out the exhaust. Its so close to starting, but just not doing it.

Any other ideas? Should I drain the bowl and fill it with fresh diesel?

Oh yeah, wait to start lights for 7 or so seconds.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 11:36 AM   #19
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

drained bowl completely dry. Added new diesel fuel into bowl, crank, no fire.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 11:37 AM   #20
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,607
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

Plug in the block heater.

The description you are giving sounds alot like when the glowplugs are off; you keep cranking and the truck almost starts. You keep doing it in 30 second "blocks" to let the starter cool, it will most likely start.

The compression (from cranking) is heating up the cylinder and helping combustion, but nowhere near as much as glowplugs.

The glowplug relay is on the top of the motor, just left of the fuel filter location - looks like an old ford fender-mounted starter solenoid. You should check to see if you're getting voltages for the switched post when you first key-up. Also, on a good state of battery charge, your OEM dash-mounted voltmeter will drop to about 8V.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.23502 seconds with 81 queries