D44a Aussie - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2007, 02:30 PM   #1
Chinski
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-16-06
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 396
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default D44a Aussie

I've been thinking about getting the Aussie locker for my D44a. Its the only thing available besides a factory lsd. Anyone have one? What do you think of it?
Chinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 2nd, 2007, 02:40 PM   #2
greenmeanie
Senior Member
 
greenmeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-06
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 1,732
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

there's tons of lockers availabe for the 44. i am going to get an aussie for mine though. they have better warranties than the other lunchbox style lockers; they are also the least expensive of them too.
greenmeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 02:55 PM   #3
gotsand?
sie sehen mich rollin ...
 
gotsand?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-06
Location: New Era, MI --- "We passed BFE 35 minutes ago."
Posts: 3,334
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to gotsand?
Default

I have been doing a lot of research on lockers lately and I just ordered an Aussie for my D30 today...they are on backorder and wont ship for 2 weeks but after talking with few suppliers of multiple lockers it sounds like they are well worth the wait!
not to mention they have a 3 year unconditional warranty, no matter what size tire you run....lockrite has a 33" max tire size warranty...
click on the following for some pretty good write ups.....doesnt hurt they are easier on the pocket book than others, and by the sounds of it come with extremely detailed and easy to follow install instructions.

here and here and here

good luck!
gotsand? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 03:20 PM   #4
fr3db3ar
KISS MY AVATAR
 
fr3db3ar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,429
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to fr3db3ar Send a message via AIM to fr3db3ar Send a message via Yahoo to fr3db3ar
Default

Ignore GreenMeenie as he's obviously confused. I've been running the aussie in mine now for about 8 months....no problems. I'll be trussing my axle soon. I was gonna swap it for an 8.8 and decided it's not worth the trouble. You'll need to buy an open carrier too if you don't already have one. I'm running 5" lift and 33's
fr3db3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 03:29 PM   #5
Chinski
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 06-16-06
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 396
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I think mine is open, it acts like it is. I can not find any tags on the diff and the build sheet does not says it has trac-loc, or whatever jeep called their lsd. I will have to open it up and make sure though.

How does it do in the snow? Would it negativly effect towing? I don't tow anything heavy or even that often, but I wouldn't want to loose the ability to do so.

Last edited by Chinski; February 2nd, 2007 at 04:02 PM.
Chinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 04:15 PM   #6
fr3db3ar
KISS MY AVATAR
 
fr3db3ar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,429
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to fr3db3ar Send a message via AIM to fr3db3ar Send a message via Yahoo to fr3db3ar
Default

It won't affect your towing at all. Any locker on slippery road surfaces will make the rear want to fishtail when power is applied....because it's both tires spinning and not just one. As long as you drive like a human being you won't have any problems. I love mine. You just have to drive it like you know there's a locker back there.
fr3db3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2007, 09:04 AM   #7
BlaineWasHere
GVSU Jeeper
 
BlaineWasHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-05-06
Location: G-Rap
Posts: 1,352
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to BlaineWasHere
Default

I am also going to add the aussie to my 44a. Lucky for me I have a WJ and my 44a is NOT c-cliped and much stronger. Becuase the WJ uses the rear axel for speedo it is really not worth it to swap for something else.

After I truss it, which bypasses the strees on the aluminum center section I don't forsee having any problems locked on 35's. Yukon makes alloly shafts for the WJ 44a now too...
BlaineWasHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 07:59 PM   #8
Kane
Got Jeep?
 
Kane's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48030
Posts: 593
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmeanie View Post
there's tons of lockers availabe for the 44.
True. The Dana 44 has tons of options.

But the Dana 44A, as in aluminum housing, has only one, the Aussie.
Kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 06:22 PM   #9
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane View Post
True. The Dana 44 has tons of options.

But the Dana 44A, as in aluminum housing, has only one, the Aussie.
Get him KANE!!!!!!

As far as towing you will be fine as long as the circumference of the 2 rear tires are within a 1/4" of each other. And the fact that you have an auto trans will take a lot of torque steer out of the rear axle when on and off the gas.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 07:54 PM   #10
fr3db3ar
KISS MY AVATAR
 
fr3db3ar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,429
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to fr3db3ar Send a message via AIM to fr3db3ar Send a message via Yahoo to fr3db3ar
Default

I don't sense any torque steer at all as long as my tire pressure is the same.....if you ever start feeling it...that'll most likely be the issue
fr3db3ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16201 seconds with 51 queries