*fixed*727 trans experts...help! Wont shift after rebuild. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2014, 10:43 AM   #1
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default *fixed*727 trans experts...help! Wont shift after rebuild.

Its actually a 46re but I installed a transgo shift kit to convert it to full manual. No computer is needed anymore. I just have a switch to send ground to the lockup and OD solenoids.

I rebuild the trans since it was trashed.

It will not shift out of first in HI range. When I put it in Low, it will shift .... but dosn't feel rite. It will also feel as if its stuck between gear. The engine really bogs down and dosn't want to move.

Where should I start?

I called transgo and they said to check the rear servo pressure. He said it should be around 25psi in low, than drop off when in second to zero psi. I confirmed that this is happening. So this tells me the rear band isn't staying applied when its trying to apply the front band.

Maybe VB related? Could low pressure cause this?

Last edited by Plato2k5; August 19th, 2014 at 02:49 PM.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 15th, 2014, 05:49 PM   #2
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,433
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Start with line pressure and go from there. If low, then you have pump issues.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2014, 06:17 PM   #3
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Yea trans go said check it. Should be 75psi at idle. I'll check in a few.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2014, 07:09 PM   #4
hobbyjeep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-12-06
Location: commerce twp, mi
Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

any results from pressure test?
hobbyjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2014, 09:09 PM   #5
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Pressure test is as follows:

*10psi at idle in drive gear
*up to 20psi at 1500 rpm
*30psi at 2000 rpm

During first test it dropped to 0 psi. Restarted the jeep after it sat for 5 mins and read pressure again.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2014, 11:55 PM   #6
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,433
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Something is screwed up in the front pump.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2014, 07:47 AM   #7
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Ill call trans go and see what they say....but everything I have read In ny books point a faulty pump.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2014, 02:54 PM   #8
unclebeaner
can you hear the banjos?
 
unclebeaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Flat Rock 48134
Posts: 9,075
iTrader: (72)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

pumpy pump
__________________
Avid collector of useless things.
unclebeaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2014, 03:24 PM   #9
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

They say check the pressure regulating valve to see if it is stuck. If it is good then front pump failure.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2014, 10:30 PM   #10
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,433
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Hopefully you flushed the cooler before putting the new trans in.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2014, 11:10 PM   #11
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Wellllllll.... I found the issue...lol

Pulled the front pump housing, set it on the table and flipped it over.....bolts holding pump to support shaft thing we're loose......forgot to torque them down! So it literally could open up and let all the pressure out.

Check and double check your torque kids! I must of hand tightened to check end play and forgot about it.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2014, 11:11 PM   #12
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Also yeas I did on the trans cooler and now I also run an inline spin on filter.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2014, 07:23 AM   #13
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,433
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Glad it worked out.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2014, 07:34 AM   #14
hobbyjeep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-12-06
Location: commerce twp, mi
Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I always like to be able to fix things without buying more parts...
hobbyjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2014, 08:25 AM   #15
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Good thing I didn't order the parts without tearing it apart.

I'm just happy to have found an issue that's very obvious. Always hate tearing apart stuff that dosnt work to not see any obvious issues to fix.

I'll have it back in late tonight or tmrw. Hope I didn't mess the clutches up to bad by all the slippage.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2014, 10:51 PM   #16
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

100psi at idle now :) 150psi at 2k.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2014, 02:48 PM   #17
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

So I finally got this thing fixed few weeks ago. After I had pressure like it should of been, it still would not shift. There was no governor pressure at the test port. Tech at transgo told me to shoot air through the port and look for a leak of air. Well i found a leak, it was at the governor solenoid. Messed around with it forever and changed parts, new solenoid, new gasket, new o rings, new aluminum block... still bled air. Pulled the valve body and cleaned it. Still hapend. Put it all together figure it was supose to bleed air their and they were miss informing me.

Well it worked. I imagine a valve was just stuck and the initial blast of air freed it up. I lost a week and a lot of time messing with it.

So now it shifts...but horrible 2-3 overlap. So bad it stops the jeep when driving. Called tech line again, and they run me through different things. They come to the conclusion the port in the valve body is worn and the VB is junk. So I pull it and swap the parts over to a new valve body I had.

Still had the issue. Next step was to tap the case for the orfice plug so i could thread in a brass plug with different hole size to dial it in. Did it about 4 times (mind you, you have to drop the valve body every time). Another week I still had the same problem.

While looking up what people normally drilled the plug out to at work I cam upon an image where the plug was installed i a different spot then wehre they told me to install it.

come to find out....they had me installing the plug in the WRONG HOLE! Instructions were bad. Scares me it was dated from Jan, 2011 and went this long unoticed.

Called them and gave them some words of how unhappy I am and how they greatly shortened the life of my trans I'm sure. They refunded me the cost of the shift kit and sending me a jacket.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17308 seconds with 72 queries