Jeep 2.5 no spark or fuel - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 15th, 2014, 10:08 PM   #1
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,409
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default Jeep 2.5 no spark or fuel

Ok so I drove my jeep in the barn and swapped motors now I don't have spark or fuel
New motor is all painted up so I'm wondering if I'm missing a ground somewhere
Motor is grounded to the frame to the battery
Can jump the fuel relay and the pump comes in
The pump doesn't do it's 2 second cycle when the key is turned on
I'm thinking cps but that doesn't explain the pump not even cycling with the key, does it?
Need help!
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 15th, 2014, 10:14 PM   #2
GREASYHANDS
Newbie
 
GREASYHANDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-09
Location: Ravenna
Posts: 13,621
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Default

Check the asd relay. It powers the pump relay and all the powers for coil, injectors, o2, cam and crank along with others. Should be a green/orange wire with battery voltage koeo
__________________
Bare Bones Offroad
RIP FS4L
Pavement sucks
Meow
GREASYHANDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2014, 10:22 PM   #3
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,409
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

We checked and switched all the relays around so I'm prety sure it's not a relay
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2014, 10:24 PM   #4
concreteguy82
Yeah Buddy!!
 
concreteguy82's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-11
Location: Clio, Michigan
Posts: 2,974
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Battery is dead.





Just kidding. I have nothng useful to add. Carry on.
concreteguy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2014, 10:42 PM   #5
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,306
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Double check all your grounds

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
Toyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2014, 01:23 AM   #6
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,409
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

That's what I did but I'm not sure I got them all
Where does the computer ground thru?
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2014, 02:06 AM   #7
wilinsonlevi
Team Thumbs Up
 
wilinsonlevi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-08
Location: marlette mi
Posts: 3,353
iTrader: (45)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Sounds like the auto shutdown relay is not powering up. I would guess bad ground or computer. I have a computer if needed to try/buy.
wilinsonlevi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2014, 05:12 AM   #8
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,409
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I don't think it the computer since I drove the jeep in the barn 2 weeks ago
I think it's a ground I just don't know what ground I'm missing
All the brackets and the motor itself was painted so it's highly likely it's not grounding
I know the big ground by the alternator is working because I cleaned that one and it goes to the frame to the battery
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.10370 seconds with 45 queries