Chromecast? Anybody have one? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 9th, 2014, 02:51 PM   #1
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,732
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default Chromecast? Anybody have one?

Been looking at the chromecast, I like the idea of being able to link my phone or laptop to the TV wirelessly. Anybody have one? What TV is available, netflix,crackle, etc? How well does it work?

Kickstand need not reply, as he's probably still wrapping tinfoil on his rabbit ears...
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 9th, 2014, 03:03 PM   #2
ljense8
Web Wheeler
 
ljense8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-13
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 544
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I dont know specifically what is on it, but for what its worth, my cousin is huge on tech and he loves his. I am probably going to get one soon so I can watch Netflix on my second tv. I have a bluray player on my primary tv and I dont want another one, so Im going to try chromecast.
ljense8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 03:13 PM   #3
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,732
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Mostly for my wife. She's still getting DVD's from Netflkix.

It's a tossup between this and a roku box.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 03:56 PM   #4
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,344
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

I picked up one from Wallyworld yesterday. Haven't really played with it much yet. It doesn't push what's on the screen of your laptop/smart phone to the TV like I misunderstood it did.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 04:01 PM   #5
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,463
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

I have 1. For Youtube, Netflix, etc that have the app, it is absolutely awesome! I love just bouncing around on youtube for hours watching things on my flat screen.

On the other hand, you can watch pretty much anything else through a "tab" that's still in beta testing. It works, but it's pretty "clippy". I have heard that Crackle is working on an app right now. Once they have that, I'll be really happy.
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 04:18 PM   #6
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,113
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

i use my craptop (6 years old) as a DNLA server with ps3 media server and just stream movies from my pc to my xbox
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 04:19 PM   #7
aber61
Senior Member
 
aber61's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-22-08
Location: Commerce Twp. Michigan
Posts: 6,085
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

With my Chromecast I can push videos from my smart phone to my smart TV. Can watch You Tube from my computer or smart phone. I think you can get Hulu Plus too.
aber61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 04:19 PM   #8
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,732
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skife View Post
i use my craptop (6 years old) as a DNLA server with ps3 media server and just stream movies from my pc to my xbox
This is for my wife, she needs something with a big red 'ON' button.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 04:46 PM   #9
Toncomb
Senior Member
 
Toncomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 2,338
iTrader: (45)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No hulu plus yet on chromecast, well at least as of a couple weeks ago. Have both roku and chromecast, roku is hands down better if you have internet to hook up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuggets View Post
Broken jar in butt = Nature's way if dealing with the stupid.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLeah View Post
Seems that 1/2 these people need to use periods and the other half need to get off their periods.
Toncomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2014, 07:00 PM   #10
Jeep Thrills
Lumbermonkey/pedalpusher
 
Jeep Thrills's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-14-08
Location: Flushing,Mi
Posts: 716
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I bought one yesterday. I'm hoping it will work pretty well to watch downloaded movies, instead of copying them to the thumb drive that I plug into my blue ray player. Pretty jittery so far, though. Update: It works amazingly well for Youtube videos.

Last edited by Jeep Thrills; February 11th, 2014 at 03:36 PM.
Jeep Thrills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2014, 08:21 PM   #11
Jeep Thrills
Lumbermonkey/pedalpusher
 
Jeep Thrills's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-14-08
Location: Flushing,Mi
Posts: 716
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Is there a better way for me to play files that are stored on my pc ? HP pc, and Samsung tv. Is there some external storage I could access through the HDMI input on the tv , instead of playing it on the pc and sharing it with chromecast? So, pc to USB- to ???? to HDMI---->tv..
Jeep Thrills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 08:43 AM   #12
Disco Stocker
№ ℮ Ђ ώқ Θה ς├│ﺝ
 
Disco Stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-30-06
Location: Lansing, Mi
Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I like the roku 3. I have netflix, Amazon and hbo go on it and have been really happy. It will stream video and photos from my phone and has external drive support for downloaded videos.

Not a big fan of hulu plus. I had it for 2 months, canceled it because I didn’t feel like watching commercials on a paid service.
Disco Stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 08:45 AM   #13
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,732
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

I'm thinking the roku is going to be the better plan. I doubt my wife will put up with a jittery picture and having to use a PC to watch television.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 08:54 AM   #14
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,458
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
I'm thinking the roku is going to be the better plan. I doubt my wife will put up with a jittery picture and having to use a PC to watch television.

Roku is the bomb.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 09:29 AM   #15
firestorm
Member
 
Join Date: 07-03-12
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 62
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

We haven't had cable TV in 3 years and we use Roku players. For a fairly typical TV experience, that's definitely the better option. We have the Roku 1 in the bedroom, which has an IR remote. There is a Roku 3 in the living room, which has the RF/bluetooth motion remote so you can play games and such. The Roku 3 is snappier, has a wired ethernet port, and has an updated Netflix client.

On the Roku 2 and Roku 3, the remotes have an audio port which can be a nice bonus if the ability to silently watch TV appeals to you.

FWIW, the remotes are interchangeable, so I used the IR remote from the Roku 1 to teach the remote codes to my universal remotes.

The Roku 3 requires an HDMI connection, so the lower models can be preferable if you're a cheapass like myself and have an old TV in the bedroom.

Right now, my biggest grip is that the Netflix experience is different between the 1 and the 3. I mostly prefer the new interface on the 3, BUT I hate that it automatically continues from one episode to the next and that you cannot customize this behavior. They also removed the "restart" option, so it's a PITA to get back to the beginning.

I'm hoping to use Plex Media to access our movie collection. It looks like I will have to convert quite a few titles, but I was able to pull up several movies successfully. Until I find the energy to deal with that, we're still using a HTPC (Home Theather PC) to play those movies.
firestorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 09:40 AM   #16
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,846
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firestorm View Post
We haven't had cable TV in 3 years and we use Roku players. For a fairly typical TV experience, that's definitely the better option. We have the Roku 1 in the bedroom, which has an IR remote. There is a Roku 3 in the living room, which has the RF/bluetooth motion remote so you can play games and such. The Roku 3 is snappier, has a wired ethernet port, and has an updated Netflix client.

On the Roku 2 and Roku 3, the remotes have an audio port which can be a nice bonus if the ability to silently watch TV appeals to you.

FWIW, the remotes are interchangeable, so I used the IR remote from the Roku 1 to teach the remote codes to my universal remotes.

The Roku 3 requires an HDMI connection, so the lower models can be preferable if you're a cheapass like myself and have an old TV in the bedroom.

Right now, my biggest grip is that the Netflix experience is different between the 1 and the 3. I mostly prefer the new interface on the 3, BUT I hate that it automatically continues from one episode to the next and that you cannot customize this behavior. They also removed the "restart" option, so it's a PITA to get back to the beginning.

I'm hoping to use Plex Media to access our movie collection. It looks like I will have to convert quite a few titles, but I was able to pull up several movies successfully. Until I find the energy to deal with that, we're still using a HTPC (Home Theather PC) to play those movies.
I use Plex on Roku all the time, what formats are your files currently in? Plex plays avi, mp4, and m4v files just fine.

I love this set up. I have access to 150 movies and the best part there is no need to switch discs for kids movies and no discs to scratch up. I built a cheap small computer and put freenas on it to serve up movies. FYI, the new version of freenas has Plex built in.
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 09:41 AM   #17
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,732
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Thanks, I was wondering what the differences between the roku boxes were, besides $20.00
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2014, 10:14 AM   #18
firestorm
Member
 
Join Date: 07-03-12
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 62
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJJEEP View Post
I use Plex on Roku all the time, what formats are your files currently in? Plex plays avi, mp4, and m4v files just fine.

I love this set up. I have access to 150 movies and the best part there is no need to switch discs for kids movies and no discs to scratch up. I built a cheap small computer and put freenas on it to serve up movies. FYI, the new version of freenas has Plex built in.
I built the HTPC 3 years ago and experimented quite a lot before I found the best format for XBMC. Most are MKV files and work just fine. Some are "Video_TS" folders and some are ISO. Many were left that way because they worked. Others that didn't were converted to MKV files.

I'm just not highly motivated, since XBMC still works great. It's prettier and fancier than playing through the Roku players, but switching to Plex would mean I could get the PC out of the living room and replaced with the cheap, small, cooler running Roku players.
firestorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.30539 seconds with 75 queries