wiring a sub - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2006, 08:53 PM   #1
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default wiring a sub

i got a 2000 k2500 gmc truck... i got a bazooka bass tube to wire in.. i got the rca cables to wire it into the jacks but how do you wire it in to stock head unit... keep in mind that the sub has a built in amp
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 21st, 2006, 08:55 PM   #2
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I think its called a line out converter that you need
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 09:02 PM   #3
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icebreaker88 View Post
I think its called a line out converter that you need
where could i get me one of those at??? would radio shack or like abc warehouse have on or walmart??
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 09:08 PM   #4
David
Newbie
 
Join Date: 02-05-06
Location: Sheboygan Wisconsin
Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Wal=mart should have it, you take your speaker wires (maybe from the rear speakers) and splice them into it, and then the converter turns it into rca jacks for you. pretty easy to do but the sound isnt the greatest. You could always get a new head unit with rca outs wal-mart has pretty good prices on decent units
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 09:10 PM   #5
greenmeanie
Senior Member
 
greenmeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-06
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 1,732
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

walmart is the devil
greenmeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 09:13 PM   #6
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ya i just dont like the after market look in this style of truck... i got the huge head unit cd player radio and its about 6x8 chunk... thats alot of space to fill... ill try the conveter first... im just looking for a healthy bass.... i dont want that damn bumpty bump bump shit!! jsut a healthy soand thats why i got the tube instead of a system....
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 11:16 PM   #7
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Um.... did you happen to check the built in amp?

MOST bazookas and bazooka-type enclosures with a built in amp have speaker level inputs already. You'd just hook up a set of wires from your rear speakers to those terminals.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 11:27 PM   #8
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,994
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Yea, they do the line level conversion inside the bazooka.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 11:33 PM   #9
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,448
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

you can purchase a line output converter at best buy. We sell them for $26. It taps into the rear speaker wires (L and R) and gives you RCA outputs. They than need to be dialed in.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 12:23 PM   #10
Wehan
Senior Member
 
Wehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-07-06
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 2,767
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmeanie View Post
walmart is the devil
x eleventy billion and one!
__________________
Wehan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 12:25 PM   #11
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Um.... did you happen to check the built in amp?

MOST bazookas and bazooka-type enclosures with a built in amp have speaker level inputs already. You'd just hook up a set of wires from your rear speakers to those terminals.


which wires on the harness do i connect to then??
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 04:44 PM   #12
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bogginboy View Post
which wires on the harness do i connect to then??
Jesus, its not that hard.

Take a picture and post it, or tell us what all of the inputs on the sub are.

There should be power, ground, and remote.

Then some RCA jacks.

If you line-level inputs, there should be 4 terminals, L+, L-, R+, R-

You hook those to your speakers.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 04:54 PM   #13
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,653
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sorry for asking questions hagger.. i got the sub a long time ago for free and i had it in my jeep but the jeep had a after market cd player so i had no problem with it in there.. the book i got with it has been lost over the years and i cannt find the diagram on line to tell me which pin is which on the damn thing.


i got a posative and negative green wire my 2 rca jacks posative and negative grey wire it looks like and a orangne wire and a ground plus a remote on the harness i think its called... and my power wire of course
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 01:38 PM   #14
Fatty Matty
Senior Member
 
Fatty Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: Tecumseh
Posts: 5,377
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

www.sasbazooka.com

You'll find the diagram there.
__________________
'12 JKU
'14 1500
www.midwest-abs.com
Fatty Matty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2006, 10:18 PM   #15
BILL C.
** TEAM KAMIKAZE 4X4 **
 
BILL C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: Flushing mi
Posts: 795
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

some bose factory setups require other parts. keep that in mind. im not sure what year or models have bose. i ran into that with my buddies 04
BILL C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2006, 11:21 AM   #16
the kid01
Senior Member
 
the kid01's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-24-06
Location: saginaw
Posts: 216
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmeanie View Post
walmart is the devil
yes i hate wallmart:stan3:
the kid01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2006, 11:41 AM   #17
artistic_gore
I own @ halo
 
artistic_gore's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-05-06
Location: Granite Falls, WA
Posts: 1,128
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to artistic_gore
Default

I cant afford to not shop at Walmart.
artistic_gore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22696 seconds with 72 queries