Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 25th, 2006, 07:46 PM   #1
jthomp
Senior Member
 
jthomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Linden MI
Posts: 977
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Question Curcuit breaker block?

I saw one in a magazine (that I can't find) HOME BUILT 4X4 and I haven't come across one any where else. I could use a fuse block but I like the breaker idea better. Anybody know where I can find one?
jthomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 08:24 PM   #2
redmud
10 0011 10101
 
redmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-06
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 2,335
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Try a wrecking yard for big trucks. my Work truck (western star crane truck) has three nice big circuit breaker blocks under the dash. I know there's a wrecking yard for the big guys in Westland on ford road.
redmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 09:00 PM   #3
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,704
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

They make circuit breakers that pop into a regular fuse location. You can get self resetting or the kind you have to cut power to or pull to reset.

Or you can get a marine panel.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 09:56 PM   #4
jthomp
Senior Member
 
jthomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Linden MI
Posts: 977
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws View Post
They make circuit breakers that pop into a regular fuse location. You can get self resetting or the kind you have to cut power to or pull to reset.

Or you can get a marine panel.


That sounds interesting, where at?
jthomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 10:36 PM   #5
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,704
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

The circuit breakers? Any auto parts store.



You stick them in your fuse block like this...simply replaces a fuse.



Or you can get something like this from West Marine...

Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 10:50 PM   #6
jthomp
Senior Member
 
jthomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Linden MI
Posts: 977
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

That job from WM looks like it might be the ticket.
jthomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 10:58 PM   #7
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,704
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

43 bucks for a 6 circuit, 47 for a 12 circuit. Rated 100 amps at up to 32 volts DC.

You can find it here:

Clicky Me.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2006, 11:14 PM   #8
rubicon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-27-06
Location: Madison Heights
Posts: 498
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Use aircraft circuit breakers much better quality they make the from .01 amp up to 500 amps
rubicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2006, 05:31 AM   #9
jthomp
Senior Member
 
jthomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-06
Location: Linden MI
Posts: 977
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubicon View Post
Use aircraft circuit breakers much better quality they make the from .01 amp up to 500 amps


Do you have any more info?
jthomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2006, 09:48 AM   #10
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,704
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthomp View Post
Do you have any more info?

Prolly 500 each....:stan3:
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2006, 02:31 PM   #11
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

depending on the ampereage... you can get a 250 amp breaker for from an ambulance in the junk yard for pretty cheap. They use 4-6 of them.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.20994 seconds with 34 queries