Furnace brands - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 5th, 2013, 09:18 PM   #21
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,503
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lgottler View Post
My dad has been in the business for over 40 years, still doing quotes for residential now.

I put a new furnace in two years ago. Things I learned...

Most people/installers over size a furnace thinking bigger is better. I dropped to a 66k btu from a 80k btu and went up to a 95 efficient from 80. Runs slightly longer, but house feels more evenly heated. Bills went down about 70 dollars a month avg. Winter 1600 ft2 no basement. Ive got a Lennox.

Price your replacement parts and check availability (even with warranty) to see how long you could be without heat.

Just how much will you save over X years and will it cover the extra cost to go with an ultra high efficiency unit.

Many houses have bad duct design and flow, new or old. If the ducts can't physically handle the flow of air, your new furnace will not perform. Definitely check for closed off vents, crushed returns, damaged ducts.

My dad actually installed an 90 efficient in his new house, said everything was so well insulated it didnt make sense to spend any more. He pays under 100 for heating in the winter, 1200 ft2, no basement. 6" walls, insulated...

Good luck!
I currently have a 55,000 BTU Heil. The general consensus I think is the 45 is to small.

All my ducts are exposed the the basement. They are in great shape. I have cold air returns in every room of the house. 6 cold air returns, 9 warm air registers... in a small house.

I really appreciate all the information and experiences everybody has shared!
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 6th, 2013, 06:29 AM   #22
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,199
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyJ View Post
I'm surprised by the prices, but it looks like you are pricing high efficiency units. One thing I would think about is how long you plan to live there; and if there will be a pay back to it. If you do go high efficiency, at least look to see if you qualify for a tax break.

We went with a basic furnace in our last house since we didn't plan to stay for more than 3-5 years. It didn't hurt when we sold the place, as we could still say we had a new furnace. I don't think anybody asked the efficiency of the unit. They just saw a new furnace. We had central air installed at the same time, so that helped.
I thought that is all that is available now?

FWIW, A friend of mine is an HVAC guy, and when he does side jobs, the only thing he will install is a Trane, says once it's installed and running he never has to hassle with it again.
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 07:03 AM   #23
8PTBUCK
Stuntman Mike
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 5,661
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Default

I believe we have a Crown 115k btu, to heat our 900 sq/ft home. Why the builders put such a hog in our home we have no idea, but it runs for short bursts constantly. Very inefficient. Heats the house up quick, but like I said it is constantly on and off all day long in the winter.

Like lgottler said, bigger is not always better.
__________________


@shanelee78 - "stay classy!"
8PTBUCK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 07:10 AM   #24
Padilen
Senior Member
 
Padilen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-17-12
Location: LeRoy Michigan
Posts: 1,750
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default Furnace brands

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8PTBUCK View Post
I believe we have a Crown 115k btu, to heat our 900 sq/ft home. Why the builders put such a hog in our home we have no idea, but it runs for short bursts constantly. Very inefficient. Heats the house up quick, but like I said it is constantly on and off all day long in the winter.

Like lgottler said, bigger is not always better.
Can't you change that? Mine did it, I was told that it was the efficient way. I said change it. I think it was done by the thermostat but I don't remember.
What I do remember was I had to have high efficiency because new construction. Same installers replaced my friends and it was way cheaper, because it was not a high efficiency.

Edit
I also had a guy come over and change the speed of blower to let it run constantly. I had wood stove for main heat. Thought this would help move heat around. Could stand it on all the time either. Wasted money .

Last edited by Padilen; December 6th, 2013 at 07:17 AM.
Padilen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 09:17 AM   #25
Blue XJ
The Green Machine
 
Blue XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sterling Heights
Posts: 3,685
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Blue XJ
Default

Those prices are comparable (a little higher) to what I just paid to get our furnace replaced. I went with a 95.5% efficient 60k btu single stage unit and also had a chimney liner installed. It was a side job for my neighbor who does HVAC, he said it was about $400 cheaper than his company would have charged.
Blue XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 09:29 AM   #26
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,368
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8PTBUCK View Post
I believe we have a Crown 115k btu, to heat our 900 sq/ft home. Why the builders put such a hog in our home we have no idea, but it runs for short bursts constantly. Very inefficient. Heats the house up quick, but like I said it is constantly on and off all day long in the winter.

Like lgottler said, bigger is not always better.
To me that sounds more like an insulation issue. Your house is not holding heat well and forcing the furnace to kick on and off all day?

That or maybe you thermostat is extremely touchy?

I am not an expert, but those are my guesses.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 09:36 AM   #27
8PTBUCK
Stuntman Mike
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 5,661
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
To me that sounds more like an insulation issue. Your house is not holding heat well and forcing the furnace to kick on and off all day?

That or maybe you thermostat is extremely touchy?

I am not an expert, but those are my guesses.
That's what I thought. But when we got it ready for it's first start since the spring, it wouldn't ignite. The pilot was on, and there was a spark, but it wouldn't ignite. Luckily for us, our neighbor across the street works at Matheson, so I asked him if he could take a look at it.

When he saw the furnace, first thing he asked was if it runs on and off constantly. He said it's because it's not a HE furnace and it is rated to big for the house.

That's just what he told me. I guess it could be anything really. If the thermostat was touchy, then I would imagine the A/C would run the same way, which it doesn't.
__________________


@shanelee78 - "stay classy!"
8PTBUCK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 10:07 AM   #28
littleXJ
Senior Member
 
littleXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-08
Location: Flint
Posts: 346
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

mine is Armstrong. its a 95% as well. im on my third year with it. 1 week ago the air pressure switch went out and it was fixed that morning. I really think your hvac is as good as your installer. especially when it comes to warranty stuff. just like lgottler said above, ducts play a big roll on how efficient everything works.
littleXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 11:19 AM   #29
Why YJ?
Don't be a wuss... HIT IT
 
Why YJ?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-08
Location: West Branch,MI
Posts: 1,425
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8PTBUCK View Post
That's what I thought. But when we got it ready for it's first start since the spring, it wouldn't ignite. The pilot was on, and there was a spark, but it wouldn't ignite. Luckily for us, our neighbor across the street works at Matheson, so I asked him if he could take a look at it.

When he saw the furnace, first thing he asked was if it runs on and off constantly. He said it's because it's not a HE furnace and it is rated to big for the house.

That's just what he told me. I guess it could be anything really. If the thermostat was touchy, then I would imagine the A/C would run the same way, which it doesn't.
My furnace is way overkill for my house as well. It is on and off constantly. My Dad is a HVAC guy and has been on me since I bought the house to change it. My gas bills are pretty cheap though, so I don't see the point for now.
__________________
2012 JKU Rubicon.. stock for now

Run of the mill YJ with Dana 60's and Irok's..SOLD
96 XJ on 38's...SOLD
Paul
www.teamhodges.com
Why YJ? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 03:36 PM   #30
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,503
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

Well, I go the Carrier coming to be installed (2,483) with a 4'' filter cabinet which was an extra 100.00 that would have made the total 2583.00.. Talked them down bit to 2,525.00.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2013, 08:14 PM   #31
brewchief
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-01-07
Location: Webberville, MI
Posts: 302
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyBiz View Post
Well, I go the Carrier coming to be installed (2,483) with a 4'' filter cabinet which was an extra 100.00 that would have made the total 2583.00.. Talked them down bit to 2,525.00.
That's a very fair price if they do a good job, good call on the big filter as well, it will keep the furnace in much better condition for a long time.
brewchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2013, 11:42 PM   #32
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,503
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

If anybody is interested, got this installed today.

Prior, I had been keeping the temp @ 65, and the furnace ran almost ever 5-7 min for 3ish min. Average was 64-66 with humidity around 60%.

Once the new one was installed, it was 59 inside, and it ran on high for ~ 30ish min to get to 70. I can't tell when it's running on low, and now I am at work. The wife said she has heard it turn on once, and the temp is 71, Humidity is 35%. So far, VERY happy with the purchase. You can see the old Heil in the background of the 1st picture. I was surprised how much smaller the Carrier is. It has the carrier has 3 burners instead of 2 that's in the Heil.







__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.26782 seconds with 57 queries