WTF are well inspections for? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2013, 07:05 AM   #1
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,180
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default WTF are well inspections for?

We just bought a house, the well checked out so closing proceeded. This county requires to well to check out good in order to transfer a deed.

I have been here a week only to find the well pump is not turning off at all, it only appeared to be because the 44psi of pressure it could build on the gauge was all it could do, I was told it was a 40 psi switch.

I go to change the pressure switch when I realize the pump wasn't turning off to find the gauge is broken, and 10psi off.

In reality the pump is running 100% of the time and only building 30psi.

Does anyone have any idea's? This is going to get expensive I think
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 3rd, 2013, 07:22 AM   #2
jimhri
Senior Member
 
jimhri's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-07
Location: north of a bankrupt city
Posts: 3,296
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81 View Post
This is going to get expensive I think
well well well....the joys of homeownership.

if you need any work done to the pump, etc., see if they can set up a hand pump [pitcher pump] along side if it's not too deep. this way if power fails you will have access to good water and get a little exercise.
jimhri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 07:26 AM   #3
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,758
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81 View Post
We just bought a house, the well checked out so closing proceeded. This county requires to well to check out good in order to transfer a deed.

I have been here a week only to find the well pump is not turning off at all, it only appeared to be because the 44psi of pressure it could build on the gauge was all it could do, I was told it was a 40 psi switch.

I go to change the pressure switch when I realize the pump wasn't turning off to find the gauge is broken, and 10psi off.

In reality the pump is running 100% of the time and only building 30psi.

Does anyone have any idea's? This is going to get expensive I think
They don't check for functionality. They are checking to make sure the tank is not cracked, it has been pumped and test the water quality to make sure the septic is not leaching into the well water.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 07:27 AM   #4
aber61
Senior Member
 
aber61's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-22-08
Location: Commerce Twp. Michigan
Posts: 6,083
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

The well inspection is to test the water quality for impurities, has to have ours done when we bought.
aber61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 07:29 AM   #5
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,180
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver Bullet View Post
They don't check for functionality. They are checking to make sure the tank is not cracked, it has been pumped and test the water quality to make sure the septic is not leaching into the well water.
That explains it then
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 07:55 AM   #6
2TrakR
Rider of Trails
 
2TrakR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-18-09
Location: Rhodes
Posts: 105
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ours is a in-well pump (below ground). Not sure if yours is the same.
When ours did this...
The pump is going bad or there's a leak somewhere between the pump and the house. Our well had the fitting off the well case corrode and leak. Ground was saturated from the pump constantly running and pumping water "around" the well and low pressure in the house lines. The well guys dug down to the line and replaced the fitting.

Later on the pump failed (few years). Low pressure, erratic behavior, no water.
Then the well guys pulled the old pump/pipe and put a new pump in.
__________________
/Jeramey
GLDS - AMA - MSA - GLFWDA - ATVOC - BRC - VVMapping
2TrakR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 07:59 AM   #7
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,180
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2TrakR View Post
Ours is a in-well pump (below ground). Not sure if yours is the same.
When ours did this...
The pump is going bad or there's a leak somewhere between the pump and the house. Our well had the fitting off the well case corrode and leak. Ground was saturated from the pump constantly running and pumping water "around" the well and low pressure in the house lines. The well guys dug down to the line and replaced the fitting.

Later on the pump failed (few years). Low pressure, erratic behavior, no water.
Then the well guys pulled the old pump/pipe and put a new pump in.
My pump and pressure tank both are in the ground. I wouldn't have expected a failure yet, none of it is all that old

I have no saturation around the well though, and didn't all summer while we looked at the house.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 08:05 AM   #8
Tie Dyed
O.G.
 
Tie Dyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,164
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tie Dyed
Default

Make sure you have 220 at the pump. Some pictures of your well head and pressure tank would help.
__________________
2000 XJ with a 3 inch body lift
Tie Dyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 08:16 AM   #9
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,180
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tie Dyed View Post
Make sure you have 220 at the pump. Some pictures of your well head and pressure tank would help.
Not much to see... pressure tank is in the ground by the well head.






Last edited by jeepfreak81; November 3rd, 2013 at 09:52 AM.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 09:09 AM   #10
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

never mind...
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 09:54 AM   #11
Brods
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Salem, Mi
Posts: 704
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Burying the pressure tank, YIKES. It looks like it is an accepted thing: http://www.aquascience.net/amtrol-pr...dex.cfm?id=908

Can't imagine why anyone would bury it considering all the effort it will take just to check that its not leaking. Both houses I've owned with a well had to have the pressure tank replaced. Both failed from corrosion starting on the inside of the tank.

Basic piping 101.
The switch piping should not come off the bottom of the main line. That lets sediment build up in the piping, switch and gauge (which might be what caused the first gauge to fail). Better to rotate the tee so it points up or, if there is not enough room above the pipe, move the tee to the vertical run.
__________________
88 K5 350 700R4 241 D60 14B 42TSL
Brods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 10:17 AM   #12
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,180
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brods View Post
Burying the pressure tank, YIKES. It looks like it is an accepted thing: http://www.aquascience.net/amtrol-pr...dex.cfm?id=908

Can't imagine why anyone would bury it considering all the effort it will take just to check that its not leaking. Both houses I've owned with a well had to have the pressure tank replaced. Both failed from corrosion starting on the inside of the tank.

Basic piping 101.
The switch piping should not come off the bottom of the main line. That lets sediment build up in the piping, switch and gauge (which might be what caused the first gauge to fail). Better to rotate the tee so it points up or, if there is not enough room above the pipe, move the tee to the vertical run.
My dad and I had already talked about moving the switch and gauge. It was full of sediment when I removed it. It's been that way since the house was built though.

The first tank in this house lasted 20 years. I just did the math and it has been about 16 since that replacement.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 10:39 AM   #13
marshall
locally famous
 
marshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-11
Location: mayville MI
Posts: 2,975
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81 View Post
My pump and pressure tank both are in the ground. I wouldn't have expected a failure yet, none of it is all that old

I have no saturation around the well though, and didn't all summer while we looked at the house.
The fitting on my pump eroded through, and was losing pressure from inside the pipe.
marshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 04:36 PM   #14
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,391
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Your inspector should have caught a problem when he inspected the property, no?
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 04:57 PM   #15
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,180
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk View Post
Your inspector should have caught a problem when he inspected the property, no?
I would have thought so, but it was showing the correct pressure for the switch. The problem comes in that the gauge on the well was not reading correctly. He did not hook up his own gauge.

The separate well inspector I thought checked functionality as well, apparently not.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 05:19 PM   #16
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,301
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

When I had the well inspection they checked for functionality and water quality. Had to work with the seller to get a new well dropped before closing progressed. Set us back over a month, and a couple grand.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 05:24 PM   #17
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,632
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyBiz View Post
When I had the well inspection they checked for functionality and water quality. Had to work with the seller to get a new well dropped before closing progressed. Set us back over a month, and a couple grand.
They certainly make their money on those pumps. I replaced one recently for $1200. And I made pretty good coin on that.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 05:26 PM   #18
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,301
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

I should add that that couple grand included going from a 2'' jet siphon well, to a 44 foot, 4'' well with a replaceable pump/point, and a new pressure tank
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 05:28 PM   #19
2TrakR
Rider of Trails
 
2TrakR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-18-09
Location: Rhodes
Posts: 105
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Never heard of a buried pressure tank but I don't get out much... I would suspect it first, it and/or the lines. Of course, I have zero "well-skills" so not much help...
__________________
/Jeramey
GLDS - AMA - MSA - GLFWDA - ATVOC - BRC - VVMapping
2TrakR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2013, 05:39 PM   #20
Badphish
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 03-21-07
Location: Hart Mi
Posts: 315
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Open up the cap on the well there is usually splice there there that I have saw fail. Burried tanks suck we only used them on modulars or trailers where we couldn't atank underneath. If you have a friend who's an electrician the may be able to megger test the motor for you also.
Badphish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.23497 seconds with 81 queries