Replacing fire place with a WoodStove - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 16th, 2013, 12:00 PM   #1
ffjosh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-03-09
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 301
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Replacing fire place with a WoodStove

This is going to be long so if you want skip below to the cliffs.

I have a newer Modular home (3 years old) and am thinking of taking out the fire place and installing a wood stove.

Since it will come up a Modular home is not a double wide, or a manufacture home. It is much stronger and most of the time is stronger then a stick built home due to the codes involved.

Back to the topic

It has a corner fire place pre installed. Its a nice insert with a fan that blows around it but is still open like a traditional fire place. It has a nice little real rock step in front of it and a fake rock wall that goes around it. Even has a nice mantel.

With that said I want to rip all this out and install a wood stove for better heating and to be safer.

I also want to open up the room a little and be able to store a little wood inside. I will also install a cool looking fence to keep my kid from burning himself until he is older.

What I think I should do.

Take off the mantel
Take off the fake rock wall
Take out the real stock
Take out the fire place and leave the tubing
Then I can do all the work to make it look good
Set the woodstove in place
Hook it up to the old tubing.

Im assuming there isn't much behind the fake wall.

With that said is there anything special I need to watch out for? Will this even work?

Cliffs:
Wants to replace modular fireplace with woodstove
Needs to know if this is possible
Needs to know how
ffjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old October 16th, 2013, 12:17 PM   #2
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,465
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

check insurance first
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 12:18 PM   #3
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,882
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

I am in the process of a similar setup but I am putting a direct vent fireplace in.

1 - the venting may be different. My old fireplace had larger vent tubing with three inside chambers. The new one is smaller with one inside chamber.
2 - the required clearance to combustibles may be different on not only the new stove but also the venting
3 - My direct vent fireplace required a sealant around the vent called Mil-pack and had to be sealed where it met the fireplace and where it exited the house.
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 12:19 PM   #4
ffjosh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-03-09
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 301
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bones View Post
check insurance first
that's probably not a bad idea
ffjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 12:21 PM   #5
ffjosh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-03-09
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 301
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJJEEP View Post
I am in the process of a similar setup but I am putting a direct vent fireplace in.

1 - the venting may be different. My old fireplace had larger vent tubing with three inside chambers. The new one is smaller with one inside chamber.
2 - the required clearance to combustibles may be different on not only the new stove but also the venting
3 - My direct vent fireplace required a sealant around the vent called Mil-pack
Looks like I need to learn some more.


Im pretty sure my fireplace now has a vent tube that runs into the basement. Im about positive the stove I want does not.

It looks pretty old school.
ffjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 12:33 PM   #6
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,882
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

I would basically not count in reusing anything. If you are up for a brand new install, go for it!
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 03:14 PM   #7
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

By your screen name I will post this with the assumption your are a Fire Fighter. I have been on many, many structure fires. Modular, Stick, Trailer ect. It would be a cold cold day before I had a live fire unit in a modular. If anything get's into the very small voids spaces that fuckers will run like crazy. It's very hard to stop.

To be fair, I am a bit paranoid. When I looked for a house one of my requirements were that it did not have an attached garage. When I build a garage, it will not be attached.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 06:45 PM   #8
Padilen
Senior Member
 
Padilen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-17-12
Location: LeRoy Michigan
Posts: 1,750
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Already post
Check insurance
Check building codes.
If you have a fireplace/ stove store, talk to the installers.
I think you might have to have thicker dry wall and or cement board.
I'm not slamming your home , I wish that they were not able to make claims that modulars are as good or better than stick built.
I've seen too much fail.
Padilen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 07:23 PM   #9
brewchief
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-01-07
Location: Webberville, MI
Posts: 302
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

All of the prefab fireplaces I've installed used a vent that was designed just for them, there will be no way to connect a vent from a free standing woodstove to it that will be safe and meet code.

Replacing the entire vent is probably going to be required.

If you can find a name on the pipe(or fireplace) and they offer a ceiling support kit that is designed to connect to a single wall pipe then you might be able to reuse your vent.
brewchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2013, 08:04 PM   #10
welderboyjk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-18-11
Location: Southwest, Mi
Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Have you checked into an insert?
I think it would be easier to install instead of ripping EVERYTHING out. It would probably look a heck of a lot better once done too.
Do some probing at hearth dot com. I'm sure you'll be able to find some pics of insert installs over there.

Edit. By "insert" I was referring to the newer EPA certified units.

Edit #2 stove and insert pic gallery here;
http://hearth.com/gall/v/WoodStoves/

Last edited by welderboyjk; October 16th, 2013 at 10:02 PM.
welderboyjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17941 seconds with 51 queries