solid motor mounts?? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2013, 11:42 AM   #1
davidkassie
Senior Member
 
davidkassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: coloma michigan
Posts: 779
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default solid motor mounts??

have a 87 k5 and am wondering if I should run solid motor mounts or not.. aftermarket energy suspension mounts are flexing pretty bad.. no cage or anything.. good idea or no?
davidkassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 23rd, 2013, 11:53 AM   #2
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What's the drivetrain setup? How do you know they are moving that bad?
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 12:00 PM   #3
in2deep
Hole tester
 
Join Date: 05-06-10
Location: muskegon,mi
Posts: 1,273
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

bad idea way to much frame flex I would for see cracked block or frame


id would make them out of dom and urethane bushing
in2deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 03:01 PM   #4
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by in2deep View Post
bad idea way to much frame flex I would for see cracked block or frame


id would make them out of dom and urethane bushing
Possibly, but not a sure thing. We've ran them for years on stock frames and stock blocks.
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 06:12 PM   #5
davidkassie
Senior Member
 
davidkassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: coloma michigan
Posts: 779
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

K.. 4.56 gears.. half ton axles.. th400. Np208.. 406.. worried about twist as well
davidkassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 06:49 PM   #6
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What are you seeing that you know the mounts are moving bad? You're not going to get rid of frame flex unless you tie in a good cage.
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 09:24 PM   #7
davidkassie
Senior Member
 
davidkassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: coloma michigan
Posts: 779
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It seems to move around a lot while its camming at idle.. shakes a lot.. not like a balance issue.. just while hitting at idle. I have had street cars with solid mounts and seemed way better...
davidkassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 09:44 PM   #8
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,438
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidkassie View Post
It seems to move around a lot while its camming at idle.. shakes a lot.. not like a balance issue.. just while hitting at idle. I have had street cars with solid mounts and seemed way better...
Replace tired old oil soaked mounts with some fresh ones.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 10:10 PM   #9
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,846
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuggets View Post
Replace tired old oil soaked mounts with some fresh ones.
Pretty much. And mounts are supposed to do just what they are doing....let the engine move and not transfer that movement to the chassis. A cammed motor with solid mounts is going to shake the shit out of you.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 10:38 AM   #10
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidkassie View Post
It seems to move around a lot while its camming at idle.. shakes a lot.. not like a balance issue.. just while hitting at idle. I have had street cars with solid mounts and seemed way better...
I've had some pretty "healthy" motors on poly and stock mounts and never seemed to notice that much movement, but it's not like I was looking for it either. If you've used solids in the past, then you know what to expect. At that point, it's just a personal choice.
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 11:17 AM   #11
davidkassie
Senior Member
 
davidkassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: coloma michigan
Posts: 779
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I appreciate it, just a thought is all. I will probably just put a limiting strap on the drivers side, just in case.. ty!!
davidkassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 11:51 AM   #12
Coyote Red
Senior Member
 
Coyote Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-24-11
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 1,034
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

You may want to consider limiting both sides of the engine. I was tearing both sides of mine before I chained them down.

I believe AutoFab has some poly/DOM mounts that will fit your K5.
Coyote Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 11:57 AM   #13
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've used a limiting strap on both turbo Buick's I had in the past. And I've seen chains on other vehicles, but I've never done that.......
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 11:58 AM   #14
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyote Red View Post
You may want to consider limiting both sides of the engine. I was tearing both sides of mine before I chained them down.

I believe AutoFab has some poly/DOM mounts that will fit your K5.
How would a limiter help on the passenger side?
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2013, 09:03 AM   #15
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,842
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws View Post
Pretty much. And mounts are supposed to do just what they are doing....let the engine move and not transfer that movement to the chassis. A cammed motor with solid mounts is going to shake the shit out of you.
For the OP stock style mounts would probably be best but I had solid mounts in my mustang and you could not even tell and I had a lil cam in it.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20184 seconds with 66 queries