95 chevy not downshifting - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 5th, 2013, 10:54 PM   #1
skruba
Newbie
 
Join Date: 09-06-12
Location: clinton township
Posts: 25
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 95 chevy not downshifting

Have a little problem with my 95 chevy TBI with a 4l60e Trans. Just threw in a 350 crate motor truck has 38s when im out on the trails when i get into the throttle its like a dogg. But if i start off in 1st gear its all there. For some reason it doesnt want to down shift on its own. Any ideas? Maybe it needs a shift kit or is something wrong? i did not hook up the o2s when i put the new motor in because i ran new exhaust. I also installed a new fuel system new pump lines fuel filter and fuel regulator rebuild kit. because the pump took a shit.....
skruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 6th, 2013, 09:48 PM   #2
skruba
Newbie
 
Join Date: 09-06-12
Location: clinton township
Posts: 25
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

any ideas?
skruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2013, 10:20 PM   #3
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,011
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Sounds like the kickdown cable is out of adjustment

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2013, 10:43 PM   #4
TanTahoe
Senior Member
 
TanTahoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-13-07
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 454
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toyfish View Post
Sounds like the kickdown cable is out of adjustment

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
These don't have kick down cables.

I would look at all the plugs and wire on the trans and tcase. Make sure you didn't cut one or get mud or dirt in a plug.
TanTahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2013, 06:56 PM   #5
skruba
Newbie
 
Join Date: 09-06-12
Location: clinton township
Posts: 25
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well it shifts fine just the power band seems gone ? gears wouldnt cause that would it ? or not having any o2?
skruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.08037 seconds with 36 queries