Axle won't disengage - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2013, 10:23 PM   #1
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Axle won't disengage

98 K2500 w/push button shift

Previous owner said he replaced the front acuator. Haven't dug far enough to see.

Anyhow, I test drove the truck for an hour on varying roads. Everything was fine. Drove it 30 or so miles home, everything is fine. I leave my house, and make a sharp turn.

After that, I picked up a vibration and a slight CV click, but axle isn't binding while turning sharp on pavement. I crawled under the truck tonight, and had my wife roll forward. It is turning the driveshaft, so that tells me that is the cause of my vibration (front shaft joints are dry)

My question is, what would cause the front axle to stay engaged? If I shift into 4wd, everything functions normally. Locks in, and stays locked under a load.
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 11th, 2013, 07:41 PM   #2
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Anyone??
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2013, 08:09 PM   #3
Ebs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: MI
Posts: 3,396
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The front shaft is suppose to spin even in 2wd, no? Jack up the front wheels and see if the shaft spins freely by hand.
Ebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2013, 10:05 PM   #4
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

the shift fork has a spring to push it back to a neutral position. it may be stuck or broken. if you pop out the actuator you should be able to shift it by hand
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2013, 10:10 PM   #5
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 09:43 AM   #6
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thank you guys! I will be tearing into it this afternoon to investigate.
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 10:57 AM   #7
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebs View Post
The front shaft is suppose to spin even in 2wd, no? Jack up the front wheels and see if the shaft spins freely by hand.
The CVs spin while in two wheel, but the drive shaft shouldn't spin in 2wd.
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 11:42 AM   #8
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok I've done some investigating.

When I pull the acuator, I can put a screw driver handle in there, and move the shift fork freely.

Drove it with the acuator pulled from the truck, and it is unlocked.
Put the acuator back in, left it unplugged, drove it, and it is still unlocked.
Plugged in the actuator, and its back to being locked in.

I pulled the actuator back out. As soon as I plug it into the wiring (while not installed) the plunger comes out.

Any ideas?
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 12:34 PM   #9
GREASYHANDS
Newbie
 
GREASYHANDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-09
Location: Ravenna
Posts: 13,837
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Default

Its possible that the switch on top of the transfer case is stuck in the engaged position, this would turn on the front actuator
__________________
Bare Bones Offroad
RIP FS4L
Pavement sucks
Meow
GREASYHANDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 12:58 PM   #10
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,345
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

What type of actuator is it? a thermal one will have a wire attached to it and an electric one will have a plug in.
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 02:33 PM   #11
firestorm
Member
 
Join Date: 07-03-12
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If it has Autotrac, the front shaft will always turn and I think they started introducing Autotrac around that year.

Autotrac trucks have an Auto4WD option on the push button panel, in addition to 2WD, 4WD and 4Lo.
firestorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 02:54 PM   #12
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,345
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wave_crusher View Post
What type of actuator is it? a thermal one will have a wire attached to it and an electric one will have a plug in.
nvm....I thought about it and answered my own question; if it is push buttom 4x4 then it has an electric actuator lol

I would check the wires, somewhere the actuator is getting constant power or not getting the reverse power to disengage it. Your shift button could also be broken. It sounds like the actuator is not getting the signal to disengage, there is two sides; one power wire engages it and the second engages it; I believe it is a 3 wire harness because of that.
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 10:15 PM   #13
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Not an autotrac.

The actuator has two wires coming out of it, that has a plug on the end. (Pretty sure two wires, I will recheck tomorrow) It is a plunger type device.

I'm leaning towards it getting constant power from somewhere.

I will be tracing wires more thoroughly tomorrow to see of I can track the problem down. Casey said it was probably something wiring too, so I guess the hunt begins.
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 10:21 PM   #14
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GREASYHANDS View Post
Its possible that the switch on top of the transfer case is stuck in the engaged position, this would turn on the front actuator
I will begin there tomorrow as that sounds very much like what's happening

Thanks again everyone. I will update again tomorrow.
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18648 seconds with 63 queries