Stalling issue - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2013, 09:34 AM   #1
Whatisfreedumb
Senior Member
 
Whatisfreedumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-11
Location: Harrison twp - MI
Posts: 278
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Whatisfreedumb
Question Stalling issue

Jeep info:
99' cherokee classic
4.0 I-6 stock 170k (231k on the body)
Replaced wires and plugs about a month ago
Replaced IAC, Tps, temp sensor,
D30 high pinion/8.25
No mods.
Any further info needed just ask.

Ok guys maybe someone can help me out here.
Basically yesterday while I was out, I pulled over to check out a vehicle leaving my jeep run, when I got back in and put it in gear everything seemed normal as we got going my dash "dropped out" meaning it wasn't reading anything and the car stalled out, Started right back up no problem. Continued driving it as we drove it was alright for the most part up until it came to slowing down when it would downshift into first it would hesitate choke and stall. Took it to the shop hooked it to a scan tool it's only shooting a code for the temp sensor as the plug makes a bad connection. There is some corrosion on the firewall ground, I cleaned up the terminals and made sure there was no issues as far as that went. It seems like the jeep wants to idle high (900-1200) when in gear and 300-600 when in neutral) it also smells like gas and seems like the engine could be flooding itself.


Also: last night when testing things I did get the odometer to read "no bus" which meant it wasn't recovering information from the PCM? Yet I got it to start shortly after. It was the first time I got the message and couldn't get it to start right away
Whatisfreedumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 5th, 2013, 11:44 AM   #2
Whatisfreedumb
Senior Member
 
Whatisfreedumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-11
Location: Harrison twp - MI
Posts: 278
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Whatisfreedumb
Default

Today going out to it I'm having an issue starting it unless I give it gas once it's started it's idling extremely low and the alternator is extremely hot...
Whatisfreedumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2013, 06:10 PM   #3
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,540
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Alternator is probly going bad, causing excessive AC voltage and the computer cannot deal with AC voltage. Connect a volt meter to the alternator output and check AC voltage.
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2013, 11:49 AM   #4
Whatisfreedumb
Senior Member
 
Whatisfreedumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-11
Location: Harrison twp - MI
Posts: 278
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Whatisfreedumb
Default

Update: regrounded the engine, installed a new battery and had the alternator tested at the local shop. Test came back "good" cleaned up the terminals and connections on the alternator and hooked it back up played with the harness finally it was running smooth but my idle is still a bit high cleared all my codes and got it to shoot p0505 which is a "idle control system malfunction... Any ideas where this could lead me?
Whatisfreedumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2013, 08:59 AM   #5
Whatisfreedumb
Senior Member
 
Whatisfreedumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-11
Location: Harrison twp - MI
Posts: 278
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Whatisfreedumb
Default

Final update, after numerous test and poking around it ended up being the IAC valve located on the throttle body. I made 6 trips to autozone, needless to say I will never go there for parts again.. They gave me 3 faulted parts, 1 previously installed part and the wrong part and refused to return it after I was so fed up and walked to o'rileys got the part. installed it right there plugged it in, cleared the code and started her up. She is running beautifully now:D

Thanks for the input ironrock much appreciated!
Whatisfreedumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
Tags
cherokee, jeep, sensor, stalling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13067 seconds with 36 queries