5.3 OR 4.3 swap - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 31st, 2013, 08:43 AM   #1
holubikj
Member
 
Join Date: 03-03-13
Location: saginaw, mi
Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 5.3 OR 4.3 swap

has any one completed one of these into an xj. can you run the 5.3 with a 700r4 or 350 trans. and does the hood still fit with either
holubikj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 31st, 2013, 06:44 PM   #2
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,510
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Why would you swap a 4.3 in a jeep that hat a 4.0 as an option I have no idea
I vote 5.3 and I've seen it done where the hood shuts I believe you have to use the car intake thou
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2013, 09:21 AM   #3
Dannn
...
 
Dannn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-08
Location: Armada, Michigan
Posts: 449
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

5.3 all day long. Just finished a 6.0 swap in my tj. Best mod ever.

Edit: run a 4l60e... much easier to adapt and tune. 700r4 requires a tv cable which may become an issue if you get a dbw 5.3.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Dannn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2013, 10:36 AM   #4
swampjeep
Swamp Stomper
 
swampjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Waterford, mi
Posts: 7,910
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannn View Post
5.3 all day long. Just finished a 6.0 swap in my tj. Best mod ever.

Edit: run a 4l60e... much easier to adapt and tune. 700r4 requires a tv cable which may become an issue if you get a dbw 5.3.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
did you get teh factory gauge cluster to work with the 6.0, if so how?

thanks, also thinking of a 5.3 swap into my TJ
swampjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2013, 08:47 PM   #5
mr crawl
Mr Crawl
 
mr crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-09
Location: South Haven, MI
Posts: 777
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

for my money I would keep the 4 liter, they are much easier to work on in a tight area, more reliable, and there are plenty of performance mods if you want more power, just my two cents
mr crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2013, 09:21 PM   #6
jbsjunk
Wheelies
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 16,899
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Default

There are a few on here that did the LS swap. If I had one a few years ago, I wouldn't have done a small block swap in my XJ.
jbsjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13318 seconds with 39 queries