Wanted auto trans for 1993 YJ 4.0 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Great Lakes 4x4 Marketplace > Wanted
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2013, 05:05 AM   #1
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Wanted auto trans for 1993 YJ 4.0

Have a ax15 in my jeep right now.. Nothing wrong with it. Just sick of having a stick trans in my jeep. Just put a new clutch and slave and pressure plate in it over the winter. Now looking to put a AUTO in it.. So if you have a good AUTO trans that will work in my jeep with all the shifter parts that would be great if you would like to sell them. Let me know.. Or if you know what else would work in my jeep that would be great too. Not sure if other years or kinds of jeeps would work.. When i do find a trans the ax15 will be up for sale... The ax15 is a 1999.

Last edited by yj-woody; May 22nd, 2013 at 05:42 PM.
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 22nd, 2013, 03:22 PM   #2
jsmtam90
Old School Jeeper Club
 
jsmtam90's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-07
Location: Vicksburg,MI.
Posts: 998
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you didnt mention what year of yj...however this is my post, this tranny came out of a 1990 yj 4.2....
Misc Jeep Part(s) 3-speed TF999 automatic w-w/o transfercase - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest
jsmtam90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2013, 05:43 PM   #3
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My yj is a 93.
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2013, 06:17 PM   #4
wilinsonlevi
Team Thumbs Up
 
wilinsonlevi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-08
Location: marlette mi
Posts: 3,352
iTrader: (45)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I would look into an aw4 swap.
wilinsonlevi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 02:10 PM   #5
bigredjeep1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 09-17-10
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 713
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I agree the AW4 cherokee 4 speed with over drive is a nice tranny and easy to find. I'm thinking about putting that in my 95' 1 ton YJ over the winter so my girlfriend bonds with the Jeep! Will help me keep it!
bigredjeep1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 09:25 PM   #6
hghgrad
Senior Member
 
hghgrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-09
Location: Monroe Mi
Posts: 653
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Aw4 swap is the way to go. I got everything for mine for $200, sold the ax15 that needed synchro's for $150.

Still need to get my front shaft lengthened, but its a pretty cheap swap otherwise.
hghgrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2013, 04:52 AM   #7
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hghgrad View Post
Aw4 swap is the way to go. I got everything for mine for $200, sold the ax15 that needed synchro's for $150.

Still need to get my front shaft lengthened, but its a pretty cheap swap otherwise.
hghgrad.. So when you did the swap how much longer is the trans? and how did you do the wire hook up? and what all do i need to do the swap? thanks
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2013, 06:38 PM   #8
hghgrad
Senior Member
 
hghgrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-09
Location: Monroe Mi
Posts: 653
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's about 2" longer. My rear driveshaft had plenty of room (sye'd)

Best wiring I found was here
http://tork4x4.lefora.com/2012/05/14...yj-swap/page2/


...I used a 91-96 Cherokee trans. The only real thing that had to be fab'd up was the trans mount. I used the ax15 mount, bolted to a 1/4" plate. The tc shifter needed a bracket made up also.

There's tons of info around. Pretty simple to do for the most part. Didn't run into any real problems.
hghgrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2013, 05:28 AM   #9
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hghgrad View Post
It's about 2" longer. My rear driveshaft had plenty of room (sye'd)

Best wiring I found was here
http://tork4x4.lefora.com/2012/05/14...yj-swap/page2/


...I used a 91-96 Cherokee trans. The only real thing that had to be fab'd up was the trans mount. I used the ax15 mount, bolted to a 1/4" plate. The tc shifter needed a bracket made up also.

There's tons of info around. Pretty simple to do for the most part. Didn't run into any real problems.
Thank you very much for the info..
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2013, 04:58 AM   #10
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

So I got a auto trans.. But i what trans mount do i use? The one thats on there is a 4 bolt.. That bolts to your skid plate.. I have been trying to google it.. But no one talks about it. So was seeing if you could help me out on this.. Thanks.
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2013, 05:24 AM   #11
hghgrad
Senior Member
 
hghgrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-09
Location: Monroe Mi
Posts: 653
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I used the ax15 rubber, cut a 1/4 piece of steel and bolted the ax15 rubber mount to the plate and he plate to the trans. I welded 2 studs to bolt the rubber mount on so it wouldn't interfere with the bottom of the trans.

Others talk about just using the aw4 4 bolt mount and just drill new holes in the skid plate. I didn't have the aw4 mount at all, so I just worked with what I had already.
hghgrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2013, 06:15 AM   #12
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok thanks.. I will try that..
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2013, 04:05 AM   #13
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hghgrad View Post
I used the ax15 rubber, cut a 1/4 piece of steel and bolted the ax15 rubber mount to the plate and he plate to the trans. I welded 2 studs to bolt the rubber mount on so it wouldn't interfere with the bottom of the trans.

Others talk about just using the aw4 4 bolt mount and just drill new holes in the skid plate. I didn't have the aw4 mount at all, so I just worked with what I had already.
I have my trans in it now i have a problem.. What did you use for a crank sensor. The one with the ax15 will not work in the auto. So i spliced the wires. The way it looks to be pluging in. And it still will not start. It will turn over.. But will not fire up. I got the end that plugs into the sensor from the junk yard and used the old sensor end put those together used as a pig tail. So if i ever need to get a new sensor all i had to do is go buy one and bolt it in. But that did not work.. What did you use in your Yj?? thanks
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2013, 08:23 AM   #14
hghgrad
Senior Member
 
hghgrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-09
Location: Monroe Mi
Posts: 653
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I had like 3 extra crank sensors in the garage, one of those fit perfectly. I never did try the sensor out of the ax15.

Probably easiest to hit the junkyard and grab one with the same connector as the yj.


Did you swap the outer wires around? I remember reading something about the outer wires possibly being flipped...
hghgrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2013, 08:31 AM   #15
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok I did try flipping the outer wires around. Still no luck.. I will have to see if i can find the right on for a yj.. Thanks for the help.
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2013, 11:41 AM   #16
hghgrad
Senior Member
 
hghgrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-09
Location: Monroe Mi
Posts: 653
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

A Cherokee one will work as long as its the same connector.
hghgrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2013, 04:08 AM   #17
yj-woody
member
 
yj-woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-20-10
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 320
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thanks i did get it started last night.
yj-woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > Great Lakes 4x4 Marketplace > Wanted

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.26851 seconds with 73 queries