Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 18th, 2013, 08:48 AM   #1
TJ SKWIG
Professional Dumbass
 
TJ SKWIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: CHELSEA, MI
Posts: 524
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Does a 1997 vortec engine need oil / water temp signal to run correctly

Just wondering if a 1997 vortec 5.7L engine needs an oil pressure signal and water temp signal to the computer for the engine to run correctly.?? or are those signals just for the gauges? im doing a v8 swap on my TJ and want to install the jeep sensors on the engine to retain the stock gauges.
TJ SKWIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2013, 08:54 AM   #2
buttercr125
I work out
 
buttercr125's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-09
Location: Fenton, mi
Posts: 2,549
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No and yes.
__________________
If your thinking about dealing with JoshuaCripe read the link below first!!
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=219276
buttercr125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2013, 09:03 AM   #3
TJ SKWIG
Professional Dumbass
 
TJ SKWIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: CHELSEA, MI
Posts: 524
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buttercr125 View Post
No and yes.
not sure what that means.. can you be a little more specific?? lol
TJ SKWIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2013, 09:26 AM   #4
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,063
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Tj gauges run off of the jeep pcm. If you want to retain them you need to run both the chevy and jeep pcms. The chevy needs the oe sending units feeding the pcm to to run properly. If it doesnt see oil pressure it will not run, if it does not see temp it will run rich all the time.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2013, 04:29 PM   #5
TJ SKWIG
Professional Dumbass
 
TJ SKWIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: CHELSEA, MI
Posts: 524
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdd1469 View Post
Tj gauges run off of the jeep pcm. If you want to retain them you need to run both the chevy and jeep pcms. The chevy needs the oe sending units feeding the pcm to to run properly. If it doesnt see oil pressure it will not run, if it does not see temp it will run rich all the time.
I have some people telling me no on the oil pressure signal to the computer, but yes on the water temp.. I do understand I have to run both pcm's for the jeep gauges to work. Just want to keep it as stock looking as possible.
TJ SKWIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2013, 08:02 PM   #6
jbeemer
Built not bought!!
 
jbeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-09
Location: conklin MI
Posts: 466
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

There is a oil pressure switch on the Chevy that runs the fuel pump relay, you will need that or a way to control the fuel pump.
jbeemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.08456 seconds with 24 queries