Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 25th, 2013, 02:58 PM   #1
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
2005 Crown Vic Police Interceptor

A friend has an 05 crown victoria with about 135k on it. about a month or so ago he said the trans started slipping. He pulled over, shut it off, restarted and it drove fine. Parked it in his driveway and wanted to have it looked at before driving again to avoid more damage. When he tried to start it again, nothing. Fuel pump doesnt come on, no crank or click, no lights in the dash are working. Here is the kicker, headlights, tail lights, interior light and blower motor all work. Radio, windows and mirrors dont. I think it sounds like a pcm gone bad but i need advice before i willy nilly replace something. All fuses have been checked and verified. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 03:09 PM   #2
jerm97xj
I fixed it!!!
 
jerm97xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-11
Location: Birch Run MI
Posts: 731
iTrader: (7)
Get a volt meter. Check the voltage at the battery, starter, and S terminal wire at the starter when turning the key to crank or jumping the starter relay. That will give you a start on diag. You are a looooooong ways from putting a pcm in. Then you would have to figure out how to program it and theft deterrent.
jerm97xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 03:29 PM   #3
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
s terminal gets no signal at all, battery is a steady 12.6v. engine just cranks with jumping power with battery staying at 10.8 volts.
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 03:53 PM   #4
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 30,109
iTrader: (61)
Check the neutral safety or MLPS I think ford calls it....multiple level position switch nor something stupid like that. Should be on the trans where the shifter is at.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 03:59 PM   #5
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
with the key in the on position, should i be able to put my reader on it to see if the pcm is getting power?
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 04:00 PM   #6
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
also brake shift interlock doesnt work with the key on, if that helps.
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 04:24 PM   #7
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,268
iTrader: (37)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle-eye View Post
also brake shift interlock doesnt work with the key on, if that helps.
do the brake lights come on?
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 04:27 PM   #8
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 1,706
iTrader: (25)
I just did a 03 run a jumper wire to the fuel pump relay and see what happens

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 04:31 PM   #9
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
yeah, brake lights come on. on the fuel pump relay it wouldnt matter, engine doesnt crank, doesnt even click.
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 05:04 PM   #10
GREASYHANDS
Bloody Knuckles
 
GREASYHANDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-09
Location: Nunica
Posts: 11,628
iTrader: (27)
Ignition switch
__________________
Bare Bones Offroad
RIP FS4L
2 old xj's
Meow
GREASYHANDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2013, 06:53 PM   #11
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
it has already been replaced.
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2013, 02:25 PM   #12
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
put the scanner on it, scanner powered up but said link communication error
cannot communicate with vehicle. any thoughts?
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2013, 03:11 PM   #13
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 30,109
iTrader: (61)
That's typically a blown fuse.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2013, 07:10 PM   #14
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 9,892
iTrader: (23)
Those had a main wiring harness in the RF corner of the car that liked to get damaged or corrode causeing all kinds of strange stuff.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2013, 06:47 AM   #15
eagle-eye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-21-10
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 423
iTrader: (3)
Checked rf wiring harness, all is well. Rechecked all fuses with test light and here is what I found. Non of the fuses labled ign on/run/acc/start are getting any power. Re replaced the ign switch to no avail, fuel pump doesn't come on, no relays click. Pcm relay feed and keep alive fuses all have power but still no reaction from the car.I don't understand how it could be fine one day and not the next...
eagle-eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2013, 06:53 AM   #16
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 9,892
iTrader: (23)
Sounds like a bad wire or connection. Here is your powers in and out of the ign. sw. Need to start doing some voltage drop testing to see where your issue is.

__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2013, 06:58 AM   #17
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,143
iTrader: (34)
Search all your common grounds.
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.11532 seconds with 46 queries