Electrical guys, quick question. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 28th, 2013, 12:27 PM   #1
Tie Dyed
O.G.
 
Tie Dyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,193
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tie Dyed
Default Electrical guys, quick question.

So, after my wife tried to burn down the house with her hair dryer, I put in a dedicated 20 amp GFI plug in the bathroom. My stove is on the other side of the wall, and I would like to put in a microwave above it. Any problems adding a plug off the bathroom one to run the microwave?

Thanks
__________________
2000 XJ with a 3 inch body lift
Tie Dyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 28th, 2013, 12:29 PM   #2
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,596
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

Microwave should be on its own circuit if possible.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 12:50 PM   #3
daxl350
Senior Member
 
daxl350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: lake orion mi
Posts: 664
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

If the hair dryer is on and the micro is on at the same time BANG GOES THE BREAKER
thay both require there own 20 amp ckt
daxl350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 01:21 PM   #4
HVYRTFT
Reed my teef
 
HVYRTFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-07
Location: Whitehall,MI
Posts: 2,447
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Your nuker needs its own circuit. That's it.
HVYRTFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 01:31 PM   #5
Immortal
NO RELIGION WAT!
 
Immortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: In my garage
Posts: 26,143
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Default

What the hell. Go for it.
Immortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 01:42 PM   #6
rammanriley
Senior Member
 
rammanriley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-11
Location: Macomb twp
Posts: 603
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The only question in this thread that needs answering is whats a Dikfore???












Hehe
rammanriley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 01:54 PM   #7
aber61
Senior Member
 
aber61's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-22-08
Location: Commerce Twp. Michigan
Posts: 6,167
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

What they said, except for #5 & #6.
aber61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 02:05 PM   #8
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,739
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Yeah, both those are high draw, and should use separate circuits. Code requires they are separate (I know people aren't always interested in code).
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 02:10 PM   #9
bigbchevy
missmrgreenagain
 
bigbchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-07
Location: fenton /hartland mi
Posts: 19,434
iTrader: (167)
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Yeah, both those are high draw, and should use separate circuits. Code requires they are separate (I know people aren't always interested in code).
This
__________________
H.o.r.e
(mr.green)So you are calling CC a liar?? Not a nice way to treat your bitch.
tube bending and gear installs pm me for info! gears installed for $150 and up per axle.
bigbchevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 02:13 PM   #10
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,596
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Yeah, both those are high draw, and should use separate circuits. Code requires they are separate (I know people aren't always interested in code).
Morse code is more funn
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 02:29 PM   #11
Tie Dyed
O.G.
 
Tie Dyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,193
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tie Dyed
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Yeah, both those are high draw, and should use separate circuits. Code requires they are separate (I know people aren't always interested in code).

Okay, well, after the small bathroom fire, I will have to add a new plug. Not worth risking it.
__________________
2000 XJ with a 3 inch body lift
Tie Dyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 02:56 PM   #12
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,650
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 134 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

You're not going to cause a fire, but it's shady to do that.

Common microwave takes 1000w, so that is 8 amps. I doubt the hair dryer takes more than 8 as well, so if you installed 12 wire and have a 20 amp breaker, you will be fine.

If you put 14 or 16 wire on a 20 amp breaker, you better have good house insurance.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 03:08 PM   #13
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,739
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Typical hair dryer is in the ~1800 watt range (15 amps). 1875 seems to be the typical number I see, I suspect thats about as much as you can push on the typical older 15 amp circuit without nuisance trips.

Common microwave is 1000watts, but thats output power. 1500 watts input is typical for that output power. plus if its over the range, there's the range lights and blower, also. Checked out 1000 watt GE, its plate states 1.5kW.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 03:11 PM   #14
Tie Dyed
O.G.
 
Tie Dyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,193
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tie Dyed
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
You're not going to cause a fire, but it's shady to do that.

Common microwave takes 1000w, so that is 8 amps. I doubt the hair dryer takes more than 8 as well, so if you installed 12 wire and have a 20 amp breaker, you will be fine.

If you put 14 or 16 wire on a 20 amp breaker, you better have good house insurance.
I have a clear run up the wall to add the plug into the cupboard, and extra spots in my circuit box. I have everything but the breaker, so I will just do it right.
__________________
2000 XJ with a 3 inch body lift
Tie Dyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2013, 06:37 AM   #15
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,650
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 134 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Typical hair dryer is in the ~1800 watt range (15 amps). 1875 seems to be the typical number I see, I suspect thats about as much as you can push on the typical older 15 amp circuit without nuisance trips.

Common microwave is 1000watts, but thats output power. 1500 watts input is typical for that output power. plus if its over the range, there's the range lights and blower, also. Checked out 1000 watt GE, its plate states 1.5kW.
wow, my over the range is 1860W!

On a side note, an inverter microwave might be the best thing I've ever purchased in my life.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2013, 08:51 AM   #16
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 25,723
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

I just looked at the microwave I have at work- it's 400w.

No wonder it takes 4 minutes to make ramen noodles.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2013, 10:27 AM   #17
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,399
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Replace 20 AMP GFCI breaker with a 40 AMP, problem solved
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2013, 12:30 PM   #18
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,739
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals View Post
Replace 20 AMP GFCI breaker with a 40 AMP, problem solved
lol...
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2013, 12:32 PM   #19
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,739
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals View Post
Replace 20 AMP GFCI breaker with a 40 AMP, problem solved
But this is funny, because its how many homeowners actually seem to think when doing electrical (or HVAC or plumbing, or whatever).

Most of the time, doing things the right way isn't much harder, and sometimes easier, than some of the hack jobs that I see.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2013, 10:06 AM   #20
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,399
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
But this is funny, because its how many homeowners actually seem to think when doing electrical (or HVAC or plumbing, or whatever).

Most of the time, doing things the right way isn't much harder, and sometimes easier, than some of the hack jobs that I see.
Oh I know, I've re-wired half of this house already.
Some really strange things in the breaker panel and in the walls.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22226 seconds with 81 queries