what stall torque converter to use? 4.3/th400 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2013, 02:09 PM   #1
peanutboozer
LET IT SNOW
 
peanutboozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-23-09
Location: monroe mi
Posts: 943
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default what stall torque converter to use? 4.3/th400

I'm going to run a TH400 trans behind a 4.3 in my 95 S10 build. I'm looking for thought on what kind of stall converter to install. I know the 4.3 is small for the th400 and I want to help to bore little thing. I also don't want to run 6K on the tach all day long or rev her up to 4k jest to move. The plan is to be able the bolt in a 383 or 400 at a latter date.

thanks Chris
peanutboozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 7th, 2013, 04:22 PM   #2
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

2000 would work well. typically 4.3s had 1900 stall converters where small blocks would have about a 1600 in a stock application.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 04:40 PM   #3
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 717
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Couple things to consider.....
If you get a 6,000RPM, it does not mean you will have to hit 6,000RPM just to get moving. You could more than likely turn the idle up, put it in drive, and idle away. Most converters are rated by their flash speed.
Whatever converter you buy, will be totally different behind another motor. If your 4.3 makes 200ft lbs of torque, then you put a SBC with 450ft. lbs of torque in front of it, it will be completely different.
Even if you buy a converter that is rated at say 3,000RPM, it doesn't mean it will stall at 3,000RPM. A lot of things come into play when you're talking about your converter..... vehicle weight, engine torque, gearing, etc. all play a part.
If you're intent to get a better converter now, I would be looking more for something to go with what motor you're eventually going to have.
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 05:10 PM   #4
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,077
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Like afr said their are a lot of things that affect the convertor. If you go with a joe blow off the shelf convertor rated at 2600 it will likely work well with a mildly built smallblock. They design a convertor that they feel will work well on most peoples cars but it isnt tuned to any one combonation.
Put that same convertor behind a 4.3 or a 454 and it will stahl at completly different rpms.

I would figure out your gearing, weight, expected torque curve, and intended usage and call the manufacturer you want to use. It will likely stahl several hundred rpm before you want with the 4.3 and work great with the smallblock if you get your numbers right.

A few companies like continental offer a free redo on your convertor if you didnt get your math right the first time. They may be a little pricey for most guys but if you can send it back and have it tuned to your new motor it may be worth it.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 06:31 PM   #5
peanutboozer
LET IT SNOW
 
peanutboozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-23-09
Location: monroe mi
Posts: 943
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thank for the in put guys. I know that a 3000 RPM stall for a stock 350 will rev past 3000 with a 454 and wont rev up to 3000 with a 4.3. By rev up i mean that if you hold the brake so you dont move in first gaer and wide open throttle.
Yes there is a lot to consider for what converter I need. My stock converter for a 350 shoud be 1400 rpm to 1600 rpm or so. I want to free up my 4.3 but dont want to go to far. If my 4.3 can only rev up th say 1200 with the brakes locked I think it will be under powered for hard up hill runs on the trail. If I'm wrong please fill me in.
peanutboozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 06:36 PM   #6
superchevy1080
gun nut
 
superchevy1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-10
Location: Freesoil Michigan
Posts: 179
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

put a 2600 stall in it, thats what i did to my old s10 blazer before I turned it into a monster and it worked great.
superchevy1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 06:41 PM   #7
superchevy1080
gun nut
 
superchevy1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-10
Location: Freesoil Michigan
Posts: 179
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Stall= rpm before the transmission hits full lockup. Most small blocks are better off with high stalls because they make most of their power at higher rpms. Big blocks are better off with lower stalls to take advantage of there low end torque.
superchevy1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 07:20 PM   #8
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 717
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutboozer View Post
thank for the in put guys. I know that a 3000 RPM stall for a stock 350 will rev past 3000 with a 454 and wont rev up to 3000 with a 4.3. By rev up i mean that if you hold the brake so you dont move in first gaer and wide open throttle.
Yes there is a lot to consider for what converter I need. My stock converter for a 350 shoud be 1400 rpm to 1600 rpm or so. I want to free up my 4.3 but dont want to go to far. If my 4.3 can only rev up th say 1200 with the brakes locked I think it will be under powered for hard up hill runs on the trail. If I'm wrong please fill me in.
Actually, putting the vehicle in car, and going WOT with let's say a 5,000RPM stall....you're going to start moving as soon as you give it gas (you can't hold it there at say 4,000RPM without moving).
Like I mentioned, converters are rated at stall flash, meaning if you sit at an idle, let off the brake, and then go WOT, it "should" flash to 5,000 quick (if the converter is matched to your vehicle).
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 08:21 PM   #9
peanutboozer
LET IT SNOW
 
peanutboozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-23-09
Location: monroe mi
Posts: 943
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFRd_CJ5 View Post
Actually, putting the vehicle in car, and going WOT with let's say a 5,000RPM stall....you're going to start moving as soon as you give it gas (you can't hold it there at say 4,000RPM without moving).
Like I mentioned, converters are rated at stall flash, meaning if you sit at an idle, let off the brake, and then go WOT, it "should" flash to 5,000 quick (if the converter is matched to your vehicle).
OK thanks , Its never been put that way to me.
peanutboozer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16084 seconds with 48 queries