Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 8th, 2013, 07:48 AM   #1
barry1me
Just another day
 
barry1me's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-06
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,888
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default best wireless router

looking for some recomendations on a good reliable router with a strong signal. My Apple airport extreme is acting up and its only 2.5 years old.
barry1me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 08:12 AM   #2
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barry1me View Post
looking for some recomendations on a good reliable router with a strong signal. My Apple airport extreme is acting up and its only 2.5 years old.

you angry that you can't find betamax tapes still too?

I went the opposite route - $19.99 belkin. it's reliable enough - the only time I have to reset/recycle it is when the crappy charter connection is already dead with a regional/local outage. (approx every 6 weeks)

oh, and I don't need "strong signal" - I don't need the packet kiddies from 6 blocks away trying to figure out how to spoof their mac addresses to get onto my connection.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 08:20 AM   #3
mschaffer66
Senior Member
 
mschaffer66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 9,188
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Technology on that shit seems to change so quickly I don't think I'd spend big money on anything PC related. What is a kick ass $200 router today is going to be the clearance bin $29 router tomorrow.

I've been wanting a router that has gigabit ports and does the 300Mbs wireless.

http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-Wireles...s=cloud+router

That's one I've been looking at a little bit. There was also another one that had the ability to function as a media server of sorts too, but I can't find the link.
mschaffer66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 08:23 AM   #4
barry1me
Just another day
 
barry1me's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-09-06
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,888
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
you angry that you can't find betamax tapes still too?

I went the opposite route - $19.99 belkin. it's reliable enough - the only time I have to reset/recycle it is when the crappy charter connection is already dead with a regional/local outage. (approx every 6 weeks)

oh, and I don't need "strong signal" - I don't need the packet kiddies from 6 blocks away trying to figure out how to spoof their mac addresses to get onto my connection.
The airport extreme is the same as it was 2.5 years ago. Fortunatley for me living in a rural area I dont have to worry about anyone getting on my connection....but its nice to have a connection when working in the garage or when in the yard
barry1me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 08:23 AM   #5
jimhri
Senior Member
 
jimhri's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-07
Location: north of a bankrupt city
Posts: 3,267
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

before tossing it, suggest you go on line a do a search on trouble-shooting the XXXYYY router. give symptoms if possible. maybe save you some change. maybe all you need to do is a re-set back to factory specs and re-boot it. check you owner's manual.
jimhri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 09:10 AM   #6
Mr.Green
I can levitate!
 
Mr.Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-05
Location: Nort Keralina
Posts: 8,020
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I have been wondering this same thing. MY router is probably 10 years old?? Maybe 7?? I dont know. I think it is a 2.4 ghz or mhz ??. It seems to work fine, but I feel like I should upgrade. I would like to get a little bigger coverage area (garage, etc). My Netflix seems to work fine most of the time when I am wireless. Should I upgrade?
Mr.Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 09:34 AM   #7
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barry1me View Post
The airport extreme is the same as it was 2.5 years ago. Fortunatley for me living in a rural area I dont have to worry about anyone getting on my connection....but its nice to have a connection when working in the garage or when in the yard
Ah, I don't apple - and didn't realize they were that stagnant.

tried a firmware update?

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1998
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 09:45 AM   #8
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 30,757
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Default

I have a netgear n600 that I have had for about 2 years now. I can get signal in the garage, outside, and anywhere in the house.

It hasn't been cycled, turned off, or updated since I bought it and works flawlessly.

crap, I just jinxed myself.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 10:31 AM   #9
snboarder113
Senior Member
 
snboarder113's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-12
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 228
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Name brand http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9&ParentOnly=1

No name brand http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...3&ParentOnly=1

if you're just "using" internet then pretty much any extended range router will work. If you're home networking with video streaming and fun shit, gotta step up.
snboarder113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 12:30 PM   #10
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,101
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/index

if your router supports it.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2013, 04:19 PM   #11
97xj
Senior Member
 
97xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-06
Location: Whitmore Lake
Posts: 1,339
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I like both of my netgear routers... The only time they are cycled is by DTE when the power drops at the house.
97xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2013, 04:37 PM   #12
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,803
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

linksys wrt54gl with dd-wrt

other than that if you do not use for basic wireless surfing any $40 will work fine.
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2013, 10:50 PM   #13
g00fy1
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum
 
g00fy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-10
Location: Monroe, MI
Posts: 428
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I bought a Linksys E4200 by Cisco and love it.
__________________
Life is tough, even tougher if your stupid. - John Wayne
g00fy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.13799 seconds with 38 queries