Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 6th, 2013, 08:11 PM   #1
michigan_Redneck
semi-pro web crawler
 
michigan_Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-10
Location: V-ville, MI
Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to michigan_Redneck Send a message via Yahoo to michigan_Redneck
Default Site bugged???

Every page I load Avast blocks an unsafe site...

http/afe.specificclick.net/?l

I'll double check my pc, but is only happening here.
michigan_Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2013, 08:12 PM   #2
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,263
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

no problem here.. Choose better porn sites.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2013, 08:13 PM   #3
jbsjunk
Cop Rated
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 13,016
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybiz View Post
no problem here.. Choose better porn sites.
+1
jbsjunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2013, 08:55 PM   #4
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

http://www.superantispyware.com/

sounds like the creeping crud. try this and see if you scrape it off
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2013, 10:28 PM   #5
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,453
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2013, 10:30 PM   #6
jaysusr
Senior Member
 
jaysusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Oakland county.
Posts: 1,027
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Avast=slow system operation.
jaysusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 09:18 AM   #7
michigan_Redneck
semi-pro web crawler
 
michigan_Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-10
Location: V-ville, MI
Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to michigan_Redneck Send a message via Yahoo to michigan_Redneck
Default

ok, it seems it was just thus pc, but hitman pro and avast boot time scans every fond anything.

did a full system clean with ccleaner seems to have gotten it.

thank the replies.

jaysusr - avast did have a big problem with their network driver causing slow boot times. however that was a couple of versions ago (and 2009-2010)
now days it one of the lightest on system resources, avg scan times, faster normal ops, top rated and ONLY FREE rated anti-virus apps out there.

Android seems a bit slow on older phone, but pc based is pretty darn good.
as of 2012 AVG or ad-aware will really slow you down.

Again, thanks for the input
michigan_Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 10:01 AM   #8
chevykid389
Member
 
chevykid389's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-08
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

having the same problem now with avast
chevykid389 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 11:02 AM   #9
capone
Senior Member
 
capone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,262
iTrader: (50)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm having a problem with avast too. But it only happens when I click on this site
__________________
When I grow up I want to be an internet comedian.
capone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 11:43 AM   #10
scrambled82
Senior Member
 
scrambled82's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-03-08
Location: livonia/mi
Posts: 3,928
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've got it too but only on GL

Malicious URL blocked - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest
scrambled82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 01:14 PM   #11
michigan_Redneck
semi-pro web crawler
 
michigan_Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-10
Location: V-ville, MI
Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to michigan_Redneck Send a message via Yahoo to michigan_Redneck
Default

clear history then run ccleaner to clear EVERYTHING.
It's something hidden in the temp files.

If you use chrome, it might be saving it to the web profile.
michigan_Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 03:39 PM   #12
capone
Senior Member
 
capone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,262
iTrader: (50)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michigan_Redneck View Post
clear history then run ccleaner to clear EVERYTHING.
It's something hidden in the temp files.

If you use chrome, it might be saving it to the web profile.
I'm using Google chrome. I'm computer illiterate what is the web profile and how do I fix it?

Thanks

Last edited by capone; February 8th, 2013 at 03:53 PM.
capone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 05:13 PM   #13
michigan_Redneck
semi-pro web crawler
 
michigan_Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-10
Location: V-ville, MI
Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to michigan_Redneck Send a message via Yahoo to michigan_Redneck
Default

Anyone NOT running avast having this problem?

capone - let me double check that will fix it. do you have a google account that saves you bookmarks and PWs?

looks like it might some of the ads across the top. I have popup once on my desktop (avast Pro), but then hit several more posts with out it.

Last edited by michigan_Redneck; February 8th, 2013 at 05:19 PM.
michigan_Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 05:29 PM   #14
jeepinRRT
Senior Member
 
jeepinRRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-08
Location: Grand Rapids,MI
Posts: 3,627
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Site works fine for me and I have no idea what an avast is.
jeepinRRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 05:47 PM   #15
capone
Senior Member
 
capone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,262
iTrader: (50)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michigan_Redneck View Post
Anyone NOT running avast having this problem?

capone - let me double check that will fix it. do you have a google account that saves you bookmarks and PWs?
Yes I do.
capone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 06:43 PM   #16
michigan_Redneck
semi-pro web crawler
 
michigan_Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-10
Location: V-ville, MI
Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to michigan_Redneck Send a message via Yahoo to michigan_Redneck
Default

ok, done some more research. this is a malware site. It sends viruses (kinda) to your pc via a tracking file called a cookie. It also looks like a problem with chrome allowing that cookie to be saved to the PC. (FYI Firefox does not seem to have this problem)(I haven't tested any other browsers) - still working on blocking it
michigan_Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2013, 06:45 PM   #17
michigan_Redneck
semi-pro web crawler
 
michigan_Redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-10
Location: V-ville, MI
Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to michigan_Redneck Send a message via Yahoo to michigan_Redneck
Default

First print or copy and save this post.

then goto your homepage (any page other than here)
next click the 3 lines on the upper right corner (settings)
go down to settings, click
at the bottom click "Show Advanced Settings...
under "Privacy" click the button "Content Settings..."
add a check to "Block third-party cookies and site data"
next click the button "Manage Exceptions.."
in the box "Add a new hostname" type (or copy and paste) - afe.specificclick.net
next to that select "BLOCK" and click "OK" and "OK" again

restart your browser

you MIGHT want to scan your PC with your favorite anti virus/antispyware
then clean it with a system cleaner (Ccleaner,Wise care 365, or winutilities)


PS.
IF you need help with this, I am PC tech of nearly 20 yrs. I run my own business and can remote into your pc to do these steps for you or can walk you through it over the phone.

email and phone are in my website , or PM contact info for you.

Last edited by michigan_Redneck; February 8th, 2013 at 07:17 PM.
michigan_Redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.17929 seconds with 47 queries