Alternator Issues, F150 5.0 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2006, 08:35 PM   #1
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,474
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default Alternator Issues, F150 5.0

So.........the alternator goes out on my truck, this is a 1992 with a 130 amp alternator for plowing. For some reason no one can sell me an alternator in that amperage, the best they can do is 90 amp.
I can buy a 200 amp that fits the 5.0 for the Mustang, but will have to do some serious grinding on the case and since this unit is more then $200, I'm not to excited about doing this.

Any ideas? Do you know anyplace near Grand Rapids that will rebuild it, or sell me something that will handle my plow and dual fans?
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 22nd, 2006, 04:59 AM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

are you set up with dual batteries or are you just trying to charge one battery really fast?
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 06:38 AM   #3
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,474
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Just one, thousand Amper right now...............
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 10:02 PM   #4
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,474
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

.....Anybody, I'm in real need. My truck is idle until I get this resolved.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 10:05 PM   #5
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I deal with a local shop called MotorCity Reman. I found them through ebay. I pick my stuff up localy but they also ship out stuff.
586-773-2089. They have some of the best prices I have found and have lifetime warranty.
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 10:08 PM   #6
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Here is a link to there Ebay store, but I have found that sometimes when you call them direct you can get better prices.
http://stores.ebay.com/Motor-City-Reman
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]

Last edited by Icebreaker88; November 22nd, 2006 at 10:12 PM.
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 10:21 PM   #7
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,474
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icebreaker88 View Post
Here is a link to there Ebay store, but I have found that sometimes when you call them direct you can get better prices.
http://stores.ebay.com/Motor-City-Reman
Thanks for the help.....................

Wierd, I know mine is a 130amp, but even this place is saying that my truck should have at most a 90amp. The E series had the 130amp. I wonder if Ford did something special with the F150's during that year with the Plow package?
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 09:21 AM   #8
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,012
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

just a thought - why don't you buy the internals to rebuild the 200 amp mustang unit, and put them in your case?
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 08:17 PM   #9
mooseracing
Stuck like a MoFo
 
mooseracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: South GR
Posts: 385
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to mooseracing
Default

the mustang is just the large case 3G alt. you could even google it and find swaps. OR over at fullsizebronco.com alot of people have done teh 3G swap, they also list what cars to get them off of.

Do you know which Alt you are running?
mooseracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2006, 08:24 PM   #10
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,474
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

I'm not sure which one I have,................I was just told a while back that my alternator was a 130 amp..........(but it has the Motocraft stamp on it)
Ford is telling me, no way, they didn't install the 130 amp on the the F150's.

Well my sollution, I found a place called A1 electric in Grand Rapids that said they can get me a 130amp alternator, and a 1000amp battery for plow trucks, with the upgraded wiring for $214 dollars. If this is the case it sounds like a great deal. (kind of sounds to cheap to me)

I will find out tomorrow.

Thanks for all of your help

Last edited by FORD FLARESIDE; November 26th, 2006 at 08:28 PM.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 12:04 PM   #11
Troll53
Lurker under the bridge
 
Troll53's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-06
Location: Lapeer, Michigan
Posts: 277
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Troll53
Default

I'm looking at the Ford catalog now. They show a 75 or 80 amp alt. for 91-92 F-150 5.0. If I look into 93-96 there is a 90 amp option but nothing higher.

What is the engineering number on your alternator? I think someone is feeding you a line...
Troll53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2006, 08:28 PM   #12
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 21,474
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

The 130 amp alternator is in and working, but the "bolt right in alternator" was not quite what they said.
I had to grind part of the mounting bracket, and also run a tap through one of the mounting holes.
However, it does seem to handle the load of the plow motor, head lights, and dual fans.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2006, 10:58 AM   #13
mooseracing
Stuck like a MoFo
 
mooseracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-06
Location: South GR
Posts: 385
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to mooseracing
Default

sounds like they gave you a 3G alt. they are factory 130 amps on many cars they can be found also
mooseracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.15041 seconds with 60 queries