1996 K1500 Z71 350 Carb, - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2012, 01:27 PM   #1
chuck202003
Senior Member
 
chuck202003's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-16-11
Location: Cheboygan
Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 1996 K1500 Z71 350 Carb,

I just bought a 96 K1500 Z71 from a friend, He has been having wiring issues so he pulled the vortec 350 out of it. I am going to put an old school carburated 350 in it and get rid of all the computer and wiring issues. I know I have to put a different transmission in it, I was thinking a turbo 350 but heard gas millage is gonna be bad. I was also told that I need a transmission that is 1988 or newer is this true? I am using the stock transfercase. What other problems am I gonna run into?
chuck202003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 17th, 2012, 01:34 PM   #2
kevinr839
Senior Member
 
kevinr839's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-06
Location: petersburg, MI
Posts: 840
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Why not just leave the trans that is in it there and get a stand alone computer to run it if needed?
kevinr839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 01:36 PM   #3
chuck202003
Senior Member
 
chuck202003's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-16-11
Location: Cheboygan
Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I was told I can get a manual valve body to put in it but then it would be manual with a ratchet shifter for $300.00 then pay to have it installed. I can get a 350 trans for $100.00- $200.00. Plus I do not have a $1000.00 for a stand alone computer.
chuck202003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 01:50 PM   #4
kevinr839
Senior Member
 
kevinr839's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-06
Location: petersburg, MI
Posts: 840
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does it have a cable that goes to the throttle from the trans or the big round plug in on the side of the trans?
kevinr839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 04:03 PM   #5
Iggy
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-02-12
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 130
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The 700-R4 (4L60) trans was used before computers. It was in 1993 models that they changed to the 4L60E, prior to that the only thing the computer controled was the lockup of the converter. There are many lockup kits on the market, consider trading the 4L60E for an earlier 4L60 and getting a lockup kit.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 04:27 PM   #6
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,007
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

You'd be better off getting a TBI 350 rather than a carb 350. But for a carbed 350 you can use any transmission from 88-93 and 78-87, that's a 700-r4 or a 350 turbo. for the turbos you'll have to get a new crossmember and driveshaft(s), the 350 is shorter than the 700. You could use a 400 turbo if you wanted too

Seems like your making a lot more work for youself, what are the wiring issues your having??
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 12:01 AM   #7
TboneK1500Z28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 09-22-11
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 457
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

question is why did you buy a truck with wiring issues. converting to carb on an 96 is more hassle than its worth in my opinion.

u can drop a whole tbi 350,700r4 combo in if you swap harnesses and computers

id run a 700r4 before i went and did a whole manual valve body swap cause who knows what you could find.

i say fix yor wiring issue. a three speed will not be very driving friendly. fix it the way it is would be your ultimate best bet.
TboneK1500Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 10:20 AM   #8
chuck202003
Senior Member
 
chuck202003's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-16-11
Location: Cheboygan
Posts: 155
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ive already bought the carburated 350 and I'm gonna drop that in. I bought the truck from a friend and he went through three different wiring harnesses. So i figured I would put a carb in it and bypass all the headaches of the wiring and computers. I sold the trans so I will need to put in the 700r4 or a turbo 350. My friends tell me the 700r4 will heat up while towing my mud truck. The truck has 33's and 3.73 gears so they say the gas milage wont be to bad.
chuck202003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 10:53 AM   #9
Iggy
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-02-12
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 130
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sending a PM
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 11:32 AM   #10
TboneK1500Z28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 09-22-11
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 457
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

trans cooler and youll be fine, u need to adjust the tv cable properly or say bye bye to the 700r4. i dont think 700r4 has electronic vss but i dont remember for sure. im just thinking if he went through three harnesses then it may not have been a harness at all, and more or less engine electronics or a faulty computer.
TboneK1500Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2012, 07:41 PM   #11
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,007
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Yea, definitely sounds like something more than a wiring problem...anyway

Just go with a 700-R4, or a 4L60. If it heats up while towing a mud truck your doing something wrong....if your really worried about it, get a aux trans cooler. And Yes, make damn sure you adjust the TV cable properly, or you'll destroy the new trans in a hurry.

Like I said; you'll need to replace some parts if you switch to a 350 turbo, and you really lose some mpgs
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2012, 09:31 PM   #12
TboneK1500Z28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 09-22-11
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 457
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

im all for the whole carbd 700r4 swap. but in reality you did mentioned driveability and your vortec 350 with 4l60e is far better at that then any carbd motor. if your going all out to buy a carb engine why not go to your pick n pull and grab a complete vortec and put it in i guarantee itd work, because your problem isnt wiring related its engine electronics related
TboneK1500Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2012, 10:03 PM   #13
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,743
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

why do all this bs when you could just fix what you have, or convert the top end of the vortec 350 to carb? this whole process is dumb and more costly.
deerebowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2012, 02:25 AM   #14
xjagain
Newbie
 
Join Date: 10-22-12
Location: Midland, Michigan
Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wave_crusher View Post
Yea, definitely sounds like something more than a wiring problem...anyway

Just go with a 700-R4, or a 4L60. If it heats up while towing a mud truck your doing something wrong....if your really worried about it, get a aux trans cooler. And Yes, make damn sure you adjust the TV cable properly, or you'll destroy the new trans in a hurry.

Like I said; you'll need to replace some parts if you switch to a 350 turbo, and you really lose some mpgs
completely right.The 700R-4 (4L60) is a far better transmission than the 350 turbo. They get a bad rap from people who understand them. There is an opposing helical cut gear set engaged in second gear otherwise known as a "hill holder mode". When plowing or rocking them to get unstuck an accidental reverse to 2nd shift can do significant damage, including breaking the sun shell, as they were only rolled from the factory not rolled and welded. Most 700R-4s that have been rebuilt have had this solved with an upgraded shell. Yes, they do occasionally over heat, but most K series had built in coolers in the radiator direct from the manufacturer. The radiator in the 96' should have an internal oil cooler as well as trans cooler.

Who doesn't want OD anyways?
xjagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21467 seconds with 63 queries