Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 25th, 2012, 05:21 AM   #1
nd4spd71
Senior Member
 
nd4spd71's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-27-06
Location: Hastings, MI
Posts: 4,043
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Tcase Question

Will a tcase out of a 2000 TJ with an 4.0/Auto work in a '97 xj with a 4.0/auto?
nd4spd71 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 05:42 AM   #2
curbdog17
.
 
curbdog17's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-08
Location: 49415
Posts: 31,721
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Default

I believe they are clocked differently. but should still work.
__________________
.
curbdog17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 06:32 AM   #3
Dylan
Senior Member
 
Dylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-24-06
Location: K-zoo
Posts: 1,120
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the clocking is in the trans not the t-case. It will bolt right in. I can't remember if they are both the long input shaft but I believe they are.
Dylan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 08:53 AM   #4
nd4spd71
Senior Member
 
nd4spd71's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-27-06
Location: Hastings, MI
Posts: 4,043
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the info guys.
nd4spd71 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 10:35 AM   #5
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,333
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Denny's price seems great Gary Worst case you can swap the input from your current T-case into it if they turn out to be different.
__________________
My Jeep

Last edited by feva4u; September 25th, 2012 at 10:40 AM.
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 12:22 PM   #6
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Input is longer on the tj but you can swap it or cut it down
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.07794 seconds with 24 queries