resistors where to buy? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 12th, 2012, 09:53 PM   #1
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default resistors where to buy?

i'm in need of a resistor of a specific value where can i find one? 3750 ohms is the magic number i need. i looked at radio shack and their selection is pretty crummy.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 12th, 2012, 10:03 PM   #2
itselliott
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 03-20-06
Location: Walhalla
Posts: 1,822
iTrader: (80)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Try this:
http://www.mouser.com/
I shop it for electronics. Good service.
itselliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 10:04 PM   #3
dougstephvoor
Supreme Chancelor!
 
dougstephvoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-21-10
Location: Saranac/Michigan
Posts: 2,225
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I bought capacitors and some stuff of the internet, to fix our Samjunk TV.

I do not remeber the specific web site, there are several out there.

Had them at the house the next day, the whole deal shipping and all was less than 10 bucks.
__________________
Supreme Chancellor!
dougstephvoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 11:32 PM   #4
brewmenn
Grumpy old man.
 
brewmenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Inkster, MI
Posts: 10,556
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I usually use jameco.com
brewmenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 11:34 PM   #5
dfm_13
Senior Member
 
dfm_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-10
Location: lapeer
Posts: 1,400
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

radioshack sucks, all they sell now a days is cell phone shit
dfm_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 11:43 PM   #6
brewmenn
Grumpy old man.
 
brewmenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Inkster, MI
Posts: 10,556
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfm_13 View Post
radioshack sucks, all they sell now a days is cell phone shit
Yep, cell phones and crappy RC toys.
brewmenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2012, 11:55 PM   #7
Lousypirate
Yer a trucker, right?
 
Lousypirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Marne 49435
Posts: 12,024
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Default

mcmaster should have some of this stuff too?
Lousypirate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2012, 08:45 AM   #8
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,768
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

At work, and at home, I use digikey as my first source. Mouser and a few others if not.

3.75k is not a standard value, you will liekly not find it, even at a good supply house.

You could go with a 3.74k:

http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...FCT-ND/1555062

Or if you absolutely needed 3.75k, then you put a 10 ohm resitor in series with it.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2012, 10:09 AM   #9
JeepInABox
Jeep yard art collector.
 
JeepInABox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-25-07
Location: Fenton
Posts: 2,339
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Resistance is futile.

But can be bought online fairly cheap.
JeepInABox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2012, 10:28 AM   #10
AJ Hall
Kickin' Up MUD
 
AJ Hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-09
Location: USA
Posts: 2,132
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Default

I think home depot has electrical things like that in the hardware section
AJ Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2012, 09:57 PM   #11
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,445
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Electronic connection in Westland. Its located on the SE corner of Newburgh Rd. and Ford Rd. Really nice selection of all things electronics and very helpful people that know what they are talking about.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2012, 09:25 PM   #12
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

well thanks for all the info. turns out i don't need one after all. my camaro has the chipped key and all of a sudden it wouldn't start. looked at everything from the starter up to the ignition. thought it was the VATS module, so i was going to bypass it. looked at it again today found out it's a bad engine ground as my fans also weren't working which seemed strange as the circuits aren't tied together at all.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2012, 09:49 PM   #13
buttercr125
I work out
 
buttercr125's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-09
Location: Fenton, mi
Posts: 2,587
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodiak450r View Post
well thanks for all the info. turns out i don't need one after all. my camaro has the chipped key and all of a sudden it wouldn't start. looked at everything from the starter up to the ignition. thought it was the VATS module, so i was going to bypass it. looked at it again today found out it's a bad engine ground as my fans also weren't working which seemed strange as the circuits aren't tied together at all.
Ok to start with why rig it and not fix it correctly? Was or is your security light coming on? Make sure it comes on with key on engine of during bulb check. Those cars are very common for the wires coming out of the ignition switch braking and causing a no start condition.
buttercr125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2012, 07:52 PM   #14
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buttercr125 View Post
Ok to start with why rig it and not fix it correctly? Was or is your security light coming on? Make sure it comes on with key on engine of during bulb check. Those cars are very common for the wires coming out of the ignition switch braking and causing a no start condition.
the security light was coming on and staying on, hence why i was thinking it was the vats system. now that i fixed the ground it comes on then goes out like it should. i wanted to bypass the vats system as a test to see if that was in fact the problem. i like the system but it does have it's flaws.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22094 seconds with 63 queries