Jeep rotates but won't start - HELP - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 17th, 2012, 05:54 PM   #1
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Jeep rotates but won't start - HELP

02 Wrangler 4.0L

Hello all, on my way to work this morning the jeep started up just fine. I was about a mile away from home when the veichle had suddenly shut off and I have no control. Luckly there was no traffic next to me so I pulled into the right lane, turn my hazzards on and got it towed home.

So far I havent found the problem, as I said, the engine will continously rotate but it wont start. The radio and everything else seems to work as well so it cant be the battery, and im assuming the alternator is fine. When I turn the ignition key, I can also hear the fuel pump turn on, so that is okay.

Im really out of ideas on what the problem could be and would really appreciate some input, thanks guys
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 17th, 2012, 05:55 PM   #2
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,933
iTrader: (149)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Cranks how? Fast? Slow? Does it attempt to fire? Is there gas in it? Are you sure?
__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 06:00 PM   #3
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well it cranks at normal speeds just as if it were to be working, which is pretty fast. it doesnt attempt to fire and I just filled the tank up 2 days ago so it has more than enough fuel
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 06:01 PM   #4
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,942
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Fuel pressure regulator, check and make sure you have spark, if the plugs are old, carbonized, put new plugs in it. Check the plugs first
wave_crusher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 06:04 PM   #5
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,308
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

do you have spark?
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 06:06 PM   #6
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

welp...this will be my first time checking spark so I have to ask, whats the best way to see if I have any spark?
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 08:17 PM   #7
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

could the crank position sensor cause this as well?
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 08:34 PM   #8
JeepManHuff
Muddin is Livin
 
JeepManHuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-23-11
Location: Owosso/Michigan
Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes the CPS can cause a no-start issue. First thing I'd be checking is if it has spark. If there is no spark I would definitely be leaning toward the Crank Sensor.
JeepManHuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 08:51 PM   #9
itselliott
Senior Member
 
itselliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-20-06
Location: Walhalla
Posts: 1,815
iTrader: (80)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I had 1 CPS go bad. Pulled up to the (home) garage, had to wait for the door to fully open.........BAM,...done, CPS just quit. Had it towed to the service garage .
itselliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 09:08 PM   #10
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,942
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

it's kinda hard to check for spark on those, there's no wires, the coil sits right on top of all the plugs.....I'd guess pull all the plugs out, hook them into the coil, set them on the block (ground them) and turn it over. have a buddy/family member watch to see if they spark.

Edit: x2 on the crank sensor, it's on the back of the motor above the transmission i believe
wave_crusher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 07:49 PM   #11
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

so Ive been trying to locate the crank sensor but am having a really difficult time locateing it. Is this thing hard to find and is it a pain in the ass to get to?
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 08:27 PM   #12
mudrunner456
Senior Member
 
mudrunner456's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: north muskegon, MI
Posts: 737
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the crank position sensor is kind of tough to see. it should be on the drivers side towards the top of the bellhousing. two small bolts hold it in. I just had this happen to me and it was the cam position sensor, $43.00 at auto zone. I trailored it to a mechanic and in less then a minute with a scanner he told me no cam signal, easy fix.
mudrunner456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 08:35 PM   #13
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudrunner456 View Post
the crank position sensor is kind of tough to see. it should be on the drivers side towards the top of the bellhousing. two small bolts hold it in. I just had this happen to me and it was the cam position sensor, $43.00 at auto zone. I trailored it to a mechanic and in less then a minute with a scanner he told me no cam signal, easy fix.
Yes easy swap on either one of this. Did you have spark? I think the crank was 45 when I did it???
mudd_jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 10:03 PM   #14
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i found the sensor but apparently bought the wrong part, this is what I will need correct? http://www.autozone.com/autozone/par...61872_0_0_1277
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 10:12 PM   #15
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yes that is the right senor.What is the problem?
mudd_jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 10:43 PM   #16
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well the part i bought must be for a different year or something, cause its just the sensor part, it doesnt have the wires attached like this one that I will need: http://www.autozone.com/autozone/par...61872_0_0_1277

The problem is that the veichle wont start and it just keeps cranking, hopefully this is the issue...
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 10:57 PM   #17
fullthrottle
2013 King of da Moustache
 
fullthrottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: flint
Posts: 2,003
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fullthrottle
Default

Your flooding the cylinders with fuel by constantly attempting to fire with no spark.

Replace the part (magnetic pickup aka crank sensor) before attempting anymore or you may be in danger of washing the cylinder walls with gas = bad. Only crank a few times to fire it up if it doens't start its time to get it to a mechanic.
fullthrottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2012, 10:01 AM   #18
Catnip 0_o
Martial Artist
 
Catnip 0_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-10
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 374
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well I got the old cps out and it was in real bad shape. put the new one in and it started right up :) luckly this wasnt a more expensive issue
Catnip 0_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2012, 10:53 AM   #19
capone
Senior Member
 
capone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,197
iTrader: (50)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Great update
capone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2012, 08:48 PM   #20
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Sterling Heights,MI
Posts: 5,117
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catnip 0_o View Post

The problem is that the veichle wont start and it just keeps cranking, hopefully this is the issue...
LOL I know that I was asking what was wrong with the part.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catnip 0_o View Post
well I got the old cps out and it was in real bad shape. put the new one in and it started right up :) luckly this wasnt a more expensive issue
GREAT update. It is electronic so crap happens even if it looks ok.
mudd_jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.24031 seconds with 81 queries