Phone tether restrictions - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:24 PM   #21
8PTBUCK
The Local Hipster
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 5,749
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Default

No, just an engineer. I want to drive the trains past Al's house
8PTBUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:26 PM   #22
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 26,121
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob the plumber View Post
You need to root, and install a custom ROM that has tethering unlocked. Gaining root access alone doesn't do it.
My droid2 and samsung admire both wirelessly tether with just root access.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:26 PM   #23
BlooMule
Jet powered
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 26,121
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8PTBUCK View Post
No, just an engineer. I want to drive the trains past Al's house
You need a stripey hat.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:28 PM   #24
8PTBUCK
The Local Hipster
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 5,749
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
You need a stripey hat.
And overalls
8PTBUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:30 PM   #25
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,941
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8PTBUCK View Post
And overalls
and an awesome mustache!!
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:33 PM   #26
8PTBUCK
The Local Hipster
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 5,749
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Default

Monopoly guy?
8PTBUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:34 PM   #27
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,941
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

http://images.wikia.com/memoryalpha/...n_engineer.jpg
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 07:39 PM   #28
8PTBUCK
The Local Hipster
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 5,749
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Default

Sexy
8PTBUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 08:12 PM   #29
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,781
iTrader: (43)
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Default

I have a thunderbolt.

I bought easytether pro today and took care of the problem as far as I can tell.

Not sure if I need to hack it, but I might if I get bored in the future.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 12:52 PM   #30
incogrhino
i pull out
 
incogrhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-11-06
Location: ravenna
Posts: 484
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

just got the newer pdanet. everythings open on this one, unlike the older version that did that stupid pop up. Running on the old droid with a cable/usb. no wifi on this old laptop.
incogrhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 02:39 PM   #31
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,778
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
My droid2 and samsung admire both wirelessly tether with just root access.
No shit. I've always been on sprint. Root + ROM.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 03:47 PM   #32
Fatty Matty
Senior Member
 
Fatty Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: Tecumseh
Posts: 5,376
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Same here. When I rooted my moment I had to install a different rom. I haven't rooted my EVO yet because I'm not feeling up to doing it this time. I need to find someone local to do it for me.
__________________
'12 JKU
'14 1500
www.midwest-abs.com
Fatty Matty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 04:34 PM   #33
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,778
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Matty View Post
Same here. When I rooted my moment I had to install a different rom. I haven't rooted my EVO yet because I'm not feeling up to doing it this time. I need to find someone local to do it for me.
The evo is super easy. The 3d with hboot 1.50 is kind of a pain though.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 05:43 PM   #34
huntstoomuch
Always chasing a big rack
 
huntstoomuch's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-07
Location: 49412
Posts: 661
iTrader: (30)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

All of the rooted EVO 4g and 3d's I'm aware of were rooted strictly for the wireless tether feature. None of them have custom roms and they are all on Sprint...just sayin.

The new 3d with hboot 1.50 is indeed a bitch to root though.
huntstoomuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 08:02 PM   #35
Ryan99
Newbie
 
Join Date: 12-27-08
Location: northeast Indiana
Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Theres a hack out for pdanet. something about signing up for full version but leaving paymnet addy blank. I've used it for the past year untii I found FoxFi. its a free hotspot app. It works great! I can stream netflix to my netbook while cruising down the interstate. My phone still has the stock rom with bloatware, verizon hasn't caught it in 3 months so far. I haven't tried a torrent through it yet though.
Ryan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21602 seconds with 66 queries