Tpi prom tuning - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2012, 12:27 PM   #1
Mud'N'Truck
I'll Finsh One, One Day
 
Mud'N'Truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: Interlochen, Michigan
Posts: 2,359
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default Tpi prom tuning

Im currently in the process of swapping a full tpi setup onto my 350 and was woundering if i HAVE to have a new prom made to get it to start as in is there a secerity feature that has to be programmed out or if im able to start it with the stock prom. Plan on having a new custom prom made just working on tight time frame and not sure ill have time to have it done.

On that note does any body have any good reccommendations on who to call for custom prom burning. Some one in traversecity would be awsome but will most likly just have to call somewere and order over the phone.

Or other route ive look alittle into is getting the stuff to do it myself. Doesnt cost much more and can get it dialed in that way. Has only one played around with these before

Any help would be a big help. Thanks Jacob
Mud'N'Truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 9th, 2012, 12:33 PM   #2
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,778
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

You probably run into a VATS issue. Those chipped f-body keys.
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2012, 12:42 PM   #3
Mud'N'Truck
I'll Finsh One, One Day
 
Mud'N'Truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: Interlochen, Michigan
Posts: 2,359
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

O yea thankyou rob thats what i left out. The car was a 86 camro with maf not the vss on the 89 and newwer ones. I know those ones you do need reprogramming
Mud'N'Truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2012, 01:17 PM   #4
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,607
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud'N'Truck View Post

Or other route ive look alittle into is getting the stuff to do it myself. Doesnt cost much more and can get it dialed in that way. Has only one played around with these before

Any help would be a big help. Thanks Jacob
moates.net / tunerpro.com and a lot of reading.

I have everything to do TBI and TPI, but it's not as simple as plugging in some stuff and changing some magic numbers. It isn't rocket science by any means - but getting your feet wet on this and "Working on a tight time frame" will not end up with you being very happy.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2012, 01:25 PM   #5
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,732
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 145 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

I use http://www.pcmforless.com/

easy to work with, and very very very quick service.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2012, 01:27 PM   #6
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,607
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Default

I'm surprised you can remember that far back.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2012, 03:54 PM   #7
Mud'N'Truck
I'll Finsh One, One Day
 
Mud'N'Truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: Interlochen, Michigan
Posts: 2,359
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
moates.net / tunerpro.com and a lot of reading.

I have everything to do TBI and TPI, but it's not as simple as plugging in some stuff and changing some magic numbers. It isn't rocket science by any means - but getting your feet wet on this and "Working on a tight time frame" will not end up with you being very happy.
Thats what i would like to just do. Get all the stuff to be able to just tune it myself. Thats why was kinda hoping to be able to run the stock prom for a little while till being able to get all the stuff to do it myself

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
I use http://www.pcmforless.com/

easy to work with, and very very very quick service.
Thanks for the link. Think it actully answered my ? about vats lockout
Mud'N'Truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12789 seconds with 42 queries