7.3 idi oil pressure problems - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2012, 12:00 AM   #1
heavy74chevy
Member
 
heavy74chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-09
Location: Davisgurg Mi
Posts: 74
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 7.3 idi oil pressure problems

So i have a 93 idi. The stock oil pressure gauge was movin all over, after its warm if i push in the clutch and let off the pedal i loose all oil pressure. I put in a sun pro electric gauge and it does the same thing. I hooked it up where the stock switch was on top of my turbo. At stop lights i hit zero, but it still sounds fine,im baffled. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
heavy74chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 12th, 2012, 03:59 AM   #2
IDIeselman
Senior Member
 
IDIeselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-23-07
Location: ludington mi
Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The factory sending unit is nothing more than an on/off switch. If you wish to know the correct pressure install a wet gauge.
IDIeselman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2012, 08:26 PM   #3
heavy74chevy
Member
 
heavy74chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-09
Location: Davisgurg Mi
Posts: 74
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do you meen a mechanical gauge? I put in electric sunpro and its still doin it. I guess my question is, is the turbo a good place to hook the aftermarket gauge in or should i have it pluged in somewhere else
heavy74chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2012, 07:53 AM   #4
chevyk10
FORD / GM
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell
Posts: 891
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavy74chevy View Post
Do you meen a mechanical gauge? I put in electric sunpro and its still doin it. I guess my question is, is the turbo a good place to hook the aftermarket gauge in or should i have it pluged in somewhere else
Key word "electric". Go with a machanical gauge.
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2012, 08:04 AM   #5
curbdog17
Mini Van
 
curbdog17's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-08
Location: 49415
Posts: 32,413
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Default

Mechanical gauge will tell you the truth.
__________________
17
curbdog17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2012, 09:18 AM   #6
chevyk10
FORD / GM
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell
Posts: 891
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curbdog17 View Post
Mechanical gauge will tell you the truth.
x2 EVERY 80s and 90s Ford truck I've owned has had problems with the electric pressure gauge (I've owned about 10). You could just replace the electric sending unit but it would just be pointless cause its a dummy gauge anyway. Just get a real mechanical gauge.
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12622 seconds with 39 queries