Th400 to np205 help - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 19th, 2012, 07:55 PM   #1
Philbertd
Newbie
 
Philbertd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-05-10
Location: Indiana
Posts: 22
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Th400 to np205 help

I currently have a 350/350 setup with a 205 case in a 73 k20 and im getting ready to install a 468 with a th400,i understand that there are adapter kits with different shafts needed to mate the 400 and 205 up, but don't know the best one to use as i have seen different types. I also know ill have to modify the driveshafts. Please advise the best route. Should i have my current driveshafts modified or purchase new ones? What is the best way to mate the np205 to the th400?

Thanks Bob.
Philbertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 29th, 2012, 06:54 PM   #2
poswheeler
POS
 
poswheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-11
Location: under your bed
Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

First you will need to have your 205 case machined to accept the bigger bearing the 32 spline input uses. ORD can supply what you need or search ebay.
Secondly, what 205 input you will need, (there is a long and short 32 spl version) and what adapter you will need depends on what output shaft your th400 has. If from a chevy, it will be 32 spline, but there are different lengths.
poswheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2012, 06:55 PM   #3
low900rr
Senior Member
 
low900rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-19-06
Location: Marine City
Posts: 1,132
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just buy a 400/205 setup thats already mated. Cheaper and easier.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
low900rr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2012, 08:01 PM   #4
Philbertd
Newbie
 
Philbertd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-05-10
Location: Indiana
Posts: 22
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the help! The longer output shaft will be used.
Philbertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2012, 09:02 PM   #5
poswheeler
POS
 
poswheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-11
Location: under your bed
Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If the output shaft sticks out about 2.5 inchs from the flange of the tranny, then you will probably need to call advanced adapters. Stock apaters are getting hard to find. I used their adapter, along with the long 205 input to mount a 205 to a th400 with the 2.5" output. Just my .02..
poswheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13107 seconds with 36 queries