Blazer 4.3 No spark No start - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 3rd, 2011, 09:55 PM   #21
GREASYHANDS
Newbie
 
GREASYHANDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-09
Location: Ravenna
Posts: 13,628
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Default

You should check the wires from the ignition switch. If you or some one else can get a diagram it would help. There are 3 or 4 switched b+ wires from the switch. If one of them is no longer being "turned on" you may not be getting power to all engine management systems. Check under the steering column at the large rectangular connection.
__________________
Bare Bones Offroad
RIP FS4L
Pavement sucks
Meow
GREASYHANDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 4th, 2011, 03:14 AM   #22
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the help everyone, Greasy Ill check those wires at tomorrow, I have the 3000plus pages of GM shop manuals, so I should be able to find the connection.

BTW who ever points me in the right direction has a cold one waiting for them at Snofari!!!
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2011, 04:28 PM   #23
BlzrNick
Built not bought
 
BlzrNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-22-09
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 519
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

what year is your blazer? I will pull up a wire diagram for the ignitions switch for ya
BlzrNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2011, 04:40 PM   #24
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Its a 99. Thanks nick
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2011, 11:51 PM   #25
tonkatruckon44s
Senior Member
 
tonkatruckon44s's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-24-11
Location: La Porte, indiana
Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

have you changed the ignition module advance can test them and coils
tonkatruckon44s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2011, 12:53 AM   #26
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

^^ yep its been replaced twice and the coil has been changed 3 times too
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2011, 01:49 AM   #27
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,652
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Did you try the relearn yet?
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2011, 03:50 PM   #28
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boggin-machine View Post
Did you try the relearn yet?
Yeah I've tried it twice now.

Does anyone know where I can get a full engine wiring harness? Google isn't helping and zr2usa.com is down right now.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2011, 03:58 PM   #29
BlzrNick
Built not bought
 
BlzrNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-22-09
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 519
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sorry about the ignition diagrams. i will post them tonight if you still need them. The problem with the engine harness on theses is that its not just a single harness the plugs into the pcm. Its all one harness that goes to the engine, trans, front diif, transfer case, o2 sensors along with going into the body. So if you are able to find an intact one. its going to be extremely pricey.

Did you ever test if you getting spark from the coil. It shouldn't be that hard to narrow it down to what the problem is. Let me know what schematics you need and i can post them. Its a lot cheaper than shotgunning new parts at it
BlzrNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2011, 04:22 PM   #30
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

If you could post the diagrams that would awesome! I would need anything that relates to starting the truck. Including the ignition column and security system.

Thanks for the heads up on the harness, I haven't been able to find anything close to a complete harness yet, most are just one or two connectors. I have also tested for spark out of the coil with no luck.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2011, 04:30 PM   #31
joescamaro67
Senior Member
 
joescamaro67's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-10
Location: chesaning mi usa
Posts: 766
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I had one that someone had tapped a remote start into and messed up the connector at the coil try to lightly tug on the individual wires with it plugged into the coil.Its a long shot but you never know
joescamaro67 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2011, 05:02 PM   #32
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

As far as I know there isn't a remote start on the truck. I've had all the connectors on and off and they seem to all I've continuity but it still wont start.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2011, 09:09 PM   #33
97jeepcherokee
i got the jeep thing
 
97jeepcherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-08
Location: Hudsonville/MI
Posts: 1,021
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

how strong is your crank signal? ive seen many problems with shimming these crnak sensors, you have to make your own shim......... i just started reading about this so im interested to hear what the back story is and did it all the sudden just stop running or was it an intermittent that became permenant???? looking for more clues, the more info the better, pm me or call me, (616)889 7477, id be willing to help with whatever i can, not sure where white lake is but im in the grand rapids/holland area
97jeepcherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2011, 01:53 PM   #34
TJontherox
Mall Rated
 
TJontherox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: Sterling Hgts, MI
Posts: 1,486
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to TJontherox
Default

Has this been resolved? I have no idea if this would work for you but, I had an older S10 and the oil pressure sending unit went out on it, it didn't register oil pressure, which wouldn't allow the engine to fire. Again, I have no idea if this is the case for your truck, just throwing out another idea.
TJontherox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2011, 07:54 PM   #35
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,222
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Just curious if you ever got this fixed? And what was the culprit?
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2011, 07:57 PM   #36
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yep he fixed it alright....motor and harness swap to a known running one.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 10:02 PM   #37
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st3d5 View Post
Yep he fixed it alright....motor and harness swap to a known running one.

And another computer, not the greatest way to fix it but it worked. I'm going to start swapping around components to find out what caused it but I going to put my money on wiring. At 12 years old the old wiring was very brittle and stiff.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.24718 seconds with 72 queries