Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 18th, 2011, 11:33 AM   #1
Sleik
Newbie
 
Join Date: 05-20-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Freeze plugs not seating properly

I did some reading and it sounds like freeze plugs are supposed to be driven into the block until the lip is flush with the side of the block. On my block I can just set the plugs in flush, or very close, on all 5 of the holes on the side of the block. Even with sealant, one of the plugs popped out immediately after startup.

The block is an 4.0L stroker in a '95 XJ. I'm thinking I have a couple of options:

1. Drive the next set of freeze plugs past flush until they are snug.
2. Buy the next larger size plug (as long as they're close, like <2 1/8", the plugs I bought are 2" steel Dorman plugs p/n 555-069).
3. Look for the rubber expanding plugs that can be tightened into place.

Thanks for any advise you can give.
Sleik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2011, 12:19 PM   #2
Suta99
Senior Member
 
Suta99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: Leamington/Ontario
Posts: 838
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I work at an engine shop and we using plug/bearing retaining sealant and drive them in with an old valve that is larger than the plug. Perfectly flush. They should never come out. either you have damaged the plugs or they are incorrect for the application. It should take some effort to put them in. Buying the next size bigger will just be a waste of money.
Suta99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2011, 01:13 PM   #3
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 275
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I'm involved with Sleik's project. He put the first set of plugs in with no sealant, and they leaked. We put the second set in with sealant, and like he said one popped out.

They are the correct plugs for the application.
They do not take any effort to push in flush.
When they come out, they are the exact same size as the original ones.

Maybe the engine shop honed out the holes???
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2011, 02:41 PM   #4
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

one of the things I am curious about is did you use shallow or deep plugs? most applications take deep plugs but I wonder if your bottoming out going in preventing the lip of the plug from making a seal. you may need to use the shallow plugs to get the lip in to the shoulder of the hole.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2011, 03:19 PM   #5
Sleik
Newbie
 
Join Date: 05-20-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The plugs I used were 0.42" deep, so not so shallow, That's kind of what I was getting at with driving the plugs in below flush; I figured that would get all the lip of the plug solidly in the hole.
Sleik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2011, 03:36 PM   #6
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

in most cases the flush approach works. the idea of having a over size or out of round hole requires the lip to be into the rim of the hole slightly. if not just operational pressure will knock it out. I have had to repair machine shop screw ups in the past. most are not bad ,but I had one I had to make way over size to make the cam plug seal. damn thing had rotted out of the block and the machine shop didn't fix it right. took 4-5 tries with different plugs to get it right. you'd be amazed how much pressure a plug can take when installed correctly
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2011, 08:49 PM   #7
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,099
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

we've always used brass plugs in chevy motors
skife is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2011, 06:00 AM   #8
JeepLV96
Member
 
JeepLV96's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-10-10
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 32
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The radius on the bottom of the plug should be able to start in the hole just enough to hold it place. I replaced mine back in July, I made a tool on the lathe to press them in about .03" below flush, which is around the bottom of the chamfer on the bore. I also used Indian Head gasket shellac on them, no leaks.
JeepLV96 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2011, 09:10 AM   #9
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 275
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Some of these we were able to push in flush by hand. Others needed only slight motivation.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2011, 06:05 AM   #10
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,506
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Dorman makes oversize plugs for your problem. May have to order them. Always used Aviation Form A Gasket form Permatex to seal them. Works good.
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2011, 06:18 AM   #11
Jeeper52
Budget, what budget?
 
Jeeper52's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-27-11
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 680
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

One more question .....is it possible the block requires METRIC plugs? if so try the dealer
Jeeper52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2011, 09:58 PM   #12
Sleik
Newbie
 
Join Date: 05-20-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Talking

Thanks all for the replies. It looks like this is what happened:

First try: no sealant = leaky plugs
Second try: bad plugs + sealant = blown-out plugs
Third try: good plugs + sealant = sealed system

The first pass was my fault for not using sealant.

The problem with the second attempt looks to be that I got handful of slightly small/out of spec plugs.

For the third (and successful) attempt I bought 2" plugs from Mazza's and they went in properly (required a mallet). I ended up using plugs with a deeper well than the previous two attempts. Those plugs were still Dorman brand didn't have China scribed into them like the previous two sets did.

Once again thanks for the replies and we'll see if these hold up.
Sleik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.15017 seconds with 36 queries