96 olds ciera batttery drain.please help. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 22nd, 2011, 01:22 PM   #1
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,066
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default 96 olds ciera batttery drain.please help.

Im working on a freinds 96 ciera with a 3.1
The car is clean,unmolested,stock radio,no trailer wireing.
I put a volt meter between the positive battery cable,and the battery,it is pulling 12+ volts out of the battery,with the doors shut,lights off,key out.
I pulled every fuse in the glove box,every relay under the hood,that was easy to reach.
I unhooked the computor,the abs pump,the steering colum.I unhooked the plugs to the transmision.None of the things I tried made the voltage pull change,so Im not sure how to isolate the circuit with the problem.
I also tried unhooking the alternator,thinking it could be shorting out inside.
I appreciate any advice,I am pretty good at finding problems like this,usually,this has me stumped.thanks.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 22nd, 2011, 01:31 PM   #2
Medic8
You call, we haul.
 
Medic8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Southgate, MI
Posts: 1,492
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok, now this seems like a really dumb question, but this site has some really dumb people, so I'll ask.

When you connected the voltmeter to the terminal and the battery, was the terminal still connected to the battery?

Here's a better test, if your meter will do Amps. Disconnect the positive cable from the battery. Put one lead on the battery, and the other on the terminal end. Watch the reading. It might be negative, but that's fine. It'll still show the amp draw. Then, start pulling fuses again.

Usual suspects:
underhood light staying on (could be short, could be a switch)
trunk light
glove box light
defrost button stuck on
shorted cigar lighter
fuel pump relay staying on

Any number of things could be causing the draw. You were on the right track, just need to measure the amp draw differently.
Medic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2011, 03:48 PM   #3
mudviper
getting dirty
 
mudviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-22-06
Location: Flint
Posts: 802
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to mudviper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medic8 View Post
Ok, now this seems like a really dumb question, but this site has some really dumb people, so I'll ask.

When you connected the voltmeter to the terminal and the battery, was the terminal still connected to the battery?

Here's a better test, if your meter will do Amps. Disconnect the positive cable from the battery. Put one lead on the battery, and the other on the terminal end. Watch the reading. It might be negative, but that's fine. It'll still show the amp draw. Then, start pulling fuses again.

Usual suspects:
underhood light staying on (could be short, could be a switch)
trunk light
glove box light
defrost button stuck on
shorted cigar lighter
fuel pump relay staying on

Any number of things could be causing the draw. You were on the right track, just need to measure the amp draw differently.
What he said.
mudviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2011, 09:28 AM   #4
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,066
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Yes my battery is unhooked. I put my meter in series between the positive battery post,and the pos batt cable.the negative cable is still hooked up.
I dont know why I was thinking I could just measure volts,it's been a while since I've had a problem I couldn't find easily.
I have my meter on the 10 amp setting,It is pulling .81 amps always.If I open the door,it goes to 2.6,shut the door it goes to 1.4,and it drops back to .82 after about 30 seconds.I think that is the curtisy light timmer,doing its thing.
I pulled every fuse,every relay again with no change in amps being pulled.
Im wondering if the starter could be shorting out inside?
I need to try unhooking the alternator again,while watching for a change in amps.
Any other suggestions?
Thanks
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2011, 05:22 PM   #5
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,066
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

I narrowed the problem down.I pulled the car back in my shop,and noticed the heater motor was still running,after I pulled the key out.
To the best of my knowledge the blower motor should not have power after you shut the car off.I unhooked the steering column,thinking the ignition switch is bad.The blower motor still has power,even with the ignition switch unplugged.
I tried unplugging the alternator,thinking it could be backfeeding some how,it changed nothing.
Does anyone have a clue whats going on?
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2011, 10:32 PM   #6
mcampau
Member
 
Join Date: 12-19-11
Location: Wyoming, MI
Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Either the heater controls are bad or someone screwed with the wiring previously. I would get a schematic of the system and start back tracing.
mcampau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2011, 10:48 PM   #7
hawkscj5
Skinny Pedal Crawler
 
hawkscj5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-13-07
Location: Lansing,/barryton mi
Posts: 2,194
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

First I would unplug the blower motor and see if your draw is gone.then I would look at the high speed relay,heater controls,ect
hawkscj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2011, 11:11 PM   #8
kevinr839
Senior Member
 
kevinr839's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-19-06
Location: petersburg, MI
Posts: 840
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Maybe a blower motor resistor?
kevinr839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2011, 08:14 AM   #9
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,537
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Prolly the high blower relay stuck on.
That is the only thing in the heater fan circuit to have battery power.
Look at a wiring diagram, it can be very helpfull on these types of problems.
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2011, 09:28 AM   #10
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,066
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
Prolly the high blower relay stuck on.
That is the only thing in the heater fan circuit to have battery power.
Look at a wiring diagram, it can be very helpfull on these types of problems.
I am going to a freinds house later for a wireing diagram,he has the mitchell system on one of his computors.
I tried unplugging the step down resistor,the blower motor,and the blower motor relay.
My draw goes down every time I unhook something in the heater circuit,but still has .2 amp draw with everything unhooked.
Thanks for the advice.I will post more,when I get a schematic.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19822 seconds with 51 queries