Never Enough.....SAS blaZeR2 - Page 8 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 9th, 2011, 07:14 PM   #141
buttercr125
I work out
 
buttercr125's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-09
Location: Fenton, mi
Posts: 2,555
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Are you seriously going to put a new motor, wiring harness and ecm in this vs. trying to figure out what if wrong with it?
__________________
If your thinking about dealing with JoshuaCripe read the link below first!!
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=219276
buttercr125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 9th, 2011, 07:16 PM   #142
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondadirtracer View Post
All of the new parts you just put on your old motor.
Yeah Ill start swapping parts once I get the new motor running but I just want to start it first, and work on one component at a time. That way I can find out if I have any new but bad components.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2011, 07:25 PM   #143
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buttercr125 View Post
Are you seriously going to put a new motor, wiring harness and ecm in this vs. trying to figure out what if wrong with it?
Yes I have replaced every component checked every wire for continuity and it still wont start. I've spent more money on new parts than I care to remember and swapping in a running motor makes more sense than chasing down 12 year old wiring and electronics. At this point I just want to get home for christmas break. Besides its not like it would hurt to replace a motor with over 200k on it for a lower mileage unit.

Edit: Its not like I haven't been trying to get my dd running for the past 2 months. I've tried everything I could think of, picked the brains of family members, mechanics (including yourself), and still cant get it to start. What would you do?

I appreciate your help but don't give me shit for not trying.

Last edited by wadey; December 9th, 2011 at 07:38 PM.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2011, 07:55 PM   #144
buttercr125
I work out
 
buttercr125's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-09
Location: Fenton, mi
Posts: 2,555
iTrader: (26)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadey View Post
Yes I have replaced every component checked every wire for continuity and it still wont start. I've spent more money on new parts than I care to remember and swapping in a running motor makes more sense than chasing down 12 year old wiring and electronics. At this point I just want to get home for christmas break. Besides its not like it would hurt to replace a motor with over 200k on it for a lower mileage unit.

Edit: Its not like I haven't been trying to get my dd running for the past 2 months. I've tried everything I could think of, picked the brains of family members, mechanics (including yourself), and still cant get it to start. What would you do?

I appreciate your help but don't give me shit for not trying.
I wasn't trying to give you shit. Sorry if you thought that. I actually do remember talking to you about this now that you mention it. It seems that lately there have been a lot of people on here with no start or running issues that I have tried to help or have helped. Where is it located right now? I know for a fact that I can get it running for you...actually I guarantee it!!
__________________
If your thinking about dealing with JoshuaCripe read the link below first!!
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=219276
buttercr125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2011, 09:51 PM   #145
stroker00s10
Odd Man out with a S10
 
stroker00s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-10
Location: fenton
Posts: 210
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Take it to a gm trained tech with proper equipment my buddy own Roys Automotive in howell. He has had many modded cars and gm tech for ever
stroker00s10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2011, 10:09 PM   #146
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stroker00s10 View Post
Take it to a gm trained tech with proper equipment my buddy own Roys Automotive in howell. He has had many modded cars and gm tech for ever
Thanks for the shop recommendation but I'm in Mt. Pleasant right now. If you have any recommendations for a place any further north let me know. thanks
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2011, 08:48 AM   #147
stroker00s10
Odd Man out with a S10
 
stroker00s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-10
Location: fenton
Posts: 210
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

SBC and carb you just need motor mounts and like hook up 4 wires lol. Its what I did to get rid of all my 4.3 problems never ran better
stroker00s10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2011, 12:01 PM   #148
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

^^ haha I like your thinking but a v8 swap wont happen until its off the street, and once it does happen it will be an aluminium LS motor
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2011, 12:11 PM   #149
Sandy_gIna
Lets do this
 
Sandy_gIna's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-18-09
Location: Holland
Posts: 76
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok so im still sad about ur problems. I have an idea. Gimmie a call or txt
Sandy_gIna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2011, 12:20 PM   #150
stroker00s10
Odd Man out with a S10
 
stroker00s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-10
Location: fenton
Posts: 210
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ya my fixs for problem always end up go overboard me blowing up my 700r4 steered me into a sas swap , Who likes a poser 2wd anyways right? Maybe I could help with problems I am a honda dealer tech but still have some resources at are former caddy dealer.

Stupid question is all your valve train moving like could you possibly snapped camshaft or something.
stroker00s10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 06:12 PM   #151
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stroker00s10 View Post
Ya my fixs for problem always end up go overboard me blowing up my 700r4 steered me into a sas swap , Who likes a poser 2wd anyways right? Maybe I could help with problems I am a honda dealer tech but still have some resources at are former caddy dealer.

Stupid question is all your valve train moving like could you possibly snapped camshaft or something.


Im 99% positive the motor is ok mechanically. Its either some sensor or broken wire causing my issue. However Ive checked everything and still cant figure it out, at this point I could have replaced a few more sensors costing alot more time and money. All while still being a complete shot in the dark.

By swapping motors and wiring harness it keeps me from chasing random wires and sensors. Sure its not my first choice but its really the most logical thing to do at this point.
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 06:23 PM   #152
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

A few more pieces and Ill be able to build a truck in my apartment




I pulled the front clip for a few reasons. 1 It just makes pulling the motor a hell of a lot easier. 2 It took me 2 days to put the headers on in the summer with the fenders on and there's no way I could reach the bolts with my carhart on. 3 The best part is that I can go through all the wiring this way, clean my grounds check for crushed/chafed wires ( already found some, non engine related tho ), ect.


Not bad for my first day IMO. Hopefully I can finish stripping the motor tonight and pull it in the morning
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 08:26 PM   #153
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

the hard part will be getting the motor inside.
__________________
Motors hate me, axles fear me.

I got your jeep thing, now my damn Chevy wont start, and its missing a wheel.
My build: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=206107
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 08:34 PM   #154
stroker00s10
Odd Man out with a S10
 
stroker00s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-10
Location: fenton
Posts: 210
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What I love about the s10 front clip makes it some much easier to work on my v8 and getting mofo headers on.
stroker00s10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 08:52 PM   #155
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,886
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Don't know how I missed this thread before. Nice job on the built. I love how you kept it low. Also awesome to see you out working with your grandparents! Sorry to hear about your luck on the engine. Hopefully its up and going soon.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 09:15 PM   #156
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freak View Post
the hard part will be getting the motor inside.

I was just going to lower it in from the back window

Quote:
Originally Posted by stroker00s10 View Post
What I love about the s10 front clip makes it some much easier to work on my v8 and getting mofo headers on.
I was really surprised how easy it came apart, even after 12 years of MI winters. And I cant believe I didn't do it the first time around with the headers
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 09:28 PM   #157
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knaffie View Post
Don't know how I missed this thread before. Nice job on the built. I love how you kept it low. Also awesome to see you out working with your grandparents! Sorry to hear about your luck on the engine. Hopefully its up and going soon.
Thanks!! I have to get it over on zr2usa, that way hopefully someone else can learn from it. But every time I get some free time the site is down

BTW Your recommendation of the zj bds coil was right on
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 09:31 PM   #158
Sandy_gIna
Lets do this
 
Sandy_gIna's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-18-09
Location: Holland
Posts: 76
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If i didnt have to work i would be up there giving ya a hand. Whos cherry picker r u using. A motor swap at college in a parking lot = awsome
Sandy_gIna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2011, 09:34 PM   #159
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,886
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadey View Post
BTW Your recommendation of the zj bds coil was right on
Excellent. I'm still happy with mine. They're a little on the soft side for jumping at the dunes, but with the air bumps, it works well enough for me.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2011, 02:14 PM   #160
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Motor should be out by tonight! I'm pretty sure I can leave the headers on, I had to pull the steering shaft of but it should be worth it. Now the only thing left is the pita bell housing bolts.

Pics once I figure out to post them from my phone
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.29668 seconds with 82 queries