Tahoe Blend Door Actuator - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 16th, 2011, 11:20 AM   #1
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,106
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default Tahoe Blend Door Actuator

Anybody change these? It's on a 2004 with dual climate control and they are both acting up and need to be changed. Dealer wants a crap tone of money to do this, and I can't find any instructions on line about this job.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 16th, 2011, 11:25 AM   #2
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,938
iTrader: (149)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Does this help maybe? Even though it sounds like the guys lips don't touch when he talks.

__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 11:38 AM   #3
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,106
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Yeah, looks like the left one is easy to replace. But the right one? Where is it? Do these have to go through a calibration after installation.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 11:41 AM   #4
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,938
iTrader: (149)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
Yeah, looks like the left one is easy to replace. But the right one? Where is it? Do these have to go through a calibration after installation.
I'm not certain. I used my phone a friend but he didn't answer. I'll let you know what he says when he calls me back. He has been the trim guy at a Chevy dealership for 20+ yrs. I remember doing the one in my 99 and it ended up being a stupid little plastic gear. Is yours "clicking" very loudly?
__________________
"It's all good. We've caught a lot nicer shit than this on fire"
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 11:43 AM   #5
davidkassie
Senior Member
 
davidkassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: coloma michigan
Posts: 805
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

on your 04, u need to remove dash almost all the way out, not too bad if u are patient and somewhat experienced.. there are two bolts that are pretty hidden, sitting in the drivers seat, the two bolts go straight down under windshield almost center with column, they are 15 mm heads, other than that, do not remove radio, cluster, etc. just unbolt main frame assy and tilt away from passenger side corner, can reach both, just be careful, there are lots of bolts, hopefully u don't have center console, cuz that sucks
davidkassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 11:44 AM   #6
davidkassie
Senior Member
 
davidkassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: coloma michigan
Posts: 805
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah calibration is probably necessary, maybe a way to do it by removing a certain fuse, etc... google it
davidkassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 01:33 PM   #7
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,385
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

you didn't say what going on with the doors? is it just the reaction time? or are they getting stuck?
I was going to tell you to drop the blower out and use a shop vac to clean out the debris that builds up under there. might save a ton of time?
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 03:49 PM   #8
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,106
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

This is a friends Tahoe. It is acting very sporadic, not responding, never consistent. I've read where the wipers inside get dirty and stop making good contact. It's not grinding yet, I've replaced a couple on other vehicles that were grinding and broke.

So, both of them are under the dash? I thought one of them was over by the gas pedal.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 05:38 PM   #9
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default .

Removal and Install procedure for right side.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	right side removal.jpg
Views:	302
Size:	71.1 KB
ID:	83529   Click image for larger version

Name:	right side install.jpg
Views:	303
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	83530  
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 05:41 PM   #10
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Re-Calibration without scan tool

Procedure to Re-Cal W/O scantool
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HVAC Re-Calibration.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	83531  
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 06:24 PM   #11
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,106
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Awesome! Thanks. But where is that right actuator at? That says nothing about removing the dash. What is the carrier?
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 06:53 PM   #12
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Hvac

Well after reading through it, You have to end up pulling the entire dash out of the truck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Removing dash.jpg
Views:	285
Size:	115.9 KB
ID:	83542  
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 07:14 PM   #13
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,106
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

UHG!!!1!


Looks like I got my work cut out for me. Thanks for the instructions!
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2011, 07:53 AM   #14
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,385
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

since you don't know the truck, it might be as simple as a pencil stuck down a vent. look for debris in the duct work as you take each piece off
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16465 seconds with 65 queries