S10 turns over but no start - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2011, 05:27 PM   #1
ANGRYLAWGNOME
AA D-Bag (FNT)
 
ANGRYLAWGNOME's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-24-09
Location: The Mountian of Morris
Posts: 329
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default S10 turns over but no start

I was just recently plugging a 7pin to a 4pin wiring adapter into the back of my s10 while it was running and then all of a sudden the truck shut down. I went back into the cab and tried to start it and it would crank but not start. I immediately noticed that when turned my key to the on posistion there was no "ding" noise that usally goes off when I have the door open and the key in at the same time. Also none of the gauges were working and no lights were on in the dash. And when I turned the key there was no sound coming from the fuel pump priming. Ive replaced the three relays in the glovebox and now im still stumped. Could plugging in the adapter have fried my fuel pump or somthing else?
ANGRYLAWGNOME is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 15th, 2011, 05:57 PM   #2
BlzrNick
Built not bought
 
BlzrNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-22-09
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 519
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Im not sure how plugging in the adapter could cause any problems but it sounds like you blew the fuse for the instrument cluster. I would check that fuse first. If that fuse is blown it would cause all the same symptoms you described.
BlzrNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 09:28 PM   #3
ANGRYLAWGNOME
AA D-Bag (FNT)
 
ANGRYLAWGNOME's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-24-09
Location: The Mountian of Morris
Posts: 329
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

That was one of the fuses I replaced as well. Is there an inline fuse im missing?
ANGRYLAWGNOME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 09:51 PM   #4
blownexploder94
Todd
 
blownexploder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-22-07
Location: South Lyon
Posts: 1,074
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What year S10?
Check the ground on the drivers side rear of the frame rail, infront of the bumper brackets. If the ground is not hooked up or broke fuel pump will not work, I believe it is also tied into the tail light harness.
blownexploder94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 01:14 PM   #5
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,104
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blownexploder94 View Post
What year S10?
Check the ground on the drivers side rear of the frame rail, infront of the bumper brackets. If the ground is not hooked up or broke fuel pump will not work, I believe it is also tied into the tail light harness.
Yep start by unpluging the trailer harness,see if you find a broken ground wire.check for power to the fuel pump with a test light.I would guess the prob is in the wireing,it would be very coincidental if something else failed,at the same time.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.10789 seconds with 36 queries