350 TBI: oil pressure switch needed or no? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2011, 10:27 AM   #1
Silver Lake
mrclean's Avatar
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: clarkston, mi
Posts: 6,451
iTrader: (145)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default 350 TBI: oil pressure switch needed or no?

Long story short I'm installing a 350 TBI into my 89 YJ. There is a port that comes out of the driver's side rear of the block that has this http://www.autozone.com/autozone/par...4053_9275_5673 sticking out of it. It kind of hits the firewall slightly with the engine in and I "believe" I already have another oil pressure sensor that sticks out from my distributor area. Do I need both? I am running fuel injection and don't want to cause any computer problems if I can help it. I would like to eliminate this one in question to free up some room if possible.
mrclean is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old July 5th, 2011, 10:34 AM   #2
workin hard to play hard
OL RED's Avatar
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: look behind you ;) or sanford
Posts: 862
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to OL RED

the one down low is usually for your gauge. the one next to the distributor is for your computer
OL RED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2011, 10:44 AM   #3
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
Yetti's Avatar
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,396
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)

You can plug them all. the one under the distributor is used most commonly because it near the harness. there's one above the oil filter outlet on the left side you can use. its the easiest to get access to in most cases.
the switch in your link is for the old style single wire gauge. its not anything more. the newer ones have the 3 wire center for the TBI and fuel shut off. if you plan on running a manual gauge then just add enough brass from the top one to get the line out where you can reach it.

Last edited by Yetti; July 5th, 2011 at 10:49 AM.
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.09560 seconds with 32 queries