93 bronco, 5.8 liter, stalls out. HELP!!!!!! - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 22nd, 2011, 08:17 PM   #1
madscience
Ballsohardthatshitcray
 
madscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-11
Location: Caro, MI
Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 93 bronco, 5.8 liter, stalls out. HELP!!!!!!

i have 1993 eddie bauer with an e4od trans, 3.55 gears, 35 inch bfgs, and the cats have been eliminated from the exhaust, the A.I.R. pump has been bypassed (after it froze up three months ago), and all the emissions stuff has been plugged off. it has a new coil, cap, rotor, wires, and plugs. the other day when i left work, it started really really hard. i drove it for a few miles (at 55), and it seemed fine. then when i got to the next stop sign it stalled out and died. it took about 10 or 15 seconds of cranking the engine over for it to start, and when i would go to accelerate, it would try to stall out and die again. i limped it back into town (it stalled out several times over 10 miles) by for the most part not giving it any throttle. the idle rpms would rise to around 15-1800, and then it would fal on it's face, and if it didnt die, it would rev up again, then stall, then rev up again, then stall, etc., until i would gi ve it throttle, in which case, when throttle was given, it would stall out and die. after it ran awhile more, you could give it a miniscule amout of throttle without it killing the motor, and accelereate a hair, but the engine would be rising and dropping the whole time. if you tried to give it more than a pinch of throttle, it would die. also, it would stall out at stops. after it stalled out, it would take alot of cranking to get it started again.

i got it home, and the first thing i did was unplug the mapsensor. this wold make it idle sky high, but it would eventually start to rev up and down again, and as soon as you plugged it back in, it would stall out and die again. so i replaced the sensor (yes, i used the right one, made sure it shared the numbers on the part). this did not help at all. so i tried checking for vaccuum leaks. i found to minor vac line problems, one cut, and one closed off (like crushed sort of). i replaced them. now when i start it cold, it runs fine for a minute or two, then after it gets warmed up, it starts doing the same thing again.

i then went through, and cleaned my k&n air filter. no dice, still doing the same thing. i sea foamed the vaccuum system and the throttle body. still doing the same thing. i added gas to the tank (5 gallons), made sure it had enough. still no change. none of the local parts stores have an obd1 reader so i can check it, I'm stumped.

more things i've already replaced : Iac, fuel filter,

p.s. the check engine light would only come on when i would go through and unplug sensors, or directly before it would die. this is my dd, so i need to get it back up and running soon! thanks for any input you may have!

Last edited by madscience; June 24th, 2011 at 09:21 AM.
madscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 22nd, 2011, 08:28 PM   #2
Dudek
Newbie
 
Join Date: 04-26-10
Location: Carleton, Mi
Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

have you checked fuel pressure?
any backfiring or anything like that?
im wondering if your computer said bye bye
Dudek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 08:30 PM   #3
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,696
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

TFI module on the brink?
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 08:30 PM   #4
madscience
Ballsohardthatshitcray
 
madscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-11
Location: Caro, MI
Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudek View Post
have you checked fuel pressure?
any backfiring or anything like that?
im wondering if your computer said bye bye
come to think of it, it did back fire once while was trying to give it throttle while limping it home.
and have not yet checked fuel pressure.
madscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 08:31 PM   #5
madscience
Ballsohardthatshitcray
 
madscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-11
Location: Caro, MI
Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapThrillB2 View Post
TFI module on the brink?
at the risk of sounding stupid, what's a TFI module?
madscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 08:42 PM   #6
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,696
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

Thick Filmed ignition Module, it would be attached to the side of the distributor.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 09:13 PM   #7
madscience
Ballsohardthatshitcray
 
madscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-11
Location: Caro, MI
Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

there was nothing on the side of my distributor, except for a cluster of wires leading into it. could it be on the inside? if so, is that something can simply change out, or will i have to replace the entire distributor?
madscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 09:15 PM   #8
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,237
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

try checking the tps voltage
and also fuel pressure. i had my 95 do some similar things and the pump was shot.
masterbeatty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 10:07 PM   #9
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,696
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

Thens probably bolted to the core support or on the left fender near the master cyl.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 10:48 PM   #10
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,569
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madscience View Post
p.s. the check engine light would only come on when i would go through and unplug sensors, or directly before it would die. this is my dd, so i need to get it back up and running soon! thanks for any input you may have!
A CEL means there were codes. Don't pull any of the wires and start it and let it stall until there is a check engine light. Get the codes read and report back.
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 11:17 PM   #11
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 11,329
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Sounds lean to me, like the fuel pump is failing. Check fuel volume asap.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2011, 12:33 AM   #12
madscience
Ballsohardthatshitcray
 
madscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-11
Location: Caro, MI
Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frdboy View Post
Sounds lean to me, like the fuel pump is failing. Check fuel volume asap.
i drove it over to my friend's house on the other side of town just now, and it ran good on the way there (oddly enough). but whne i got there and we let it idle for a few more minutes, it started doing it again. we let it cool down and then put the fuel pressure gauge on it, and low and behold, it had super low fuel pressure. my guess is the pump, so a pump and filter is where I'll have to start.
madscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2011, 08:53 AM   #13
madscience
Ballsohardthatshitcray
 
madscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-11
Location: Caro, MI
Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well, it wasn't the filter, so my guess is the pump, and I'm not looking forward to doing it. at all.
madscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2011, 09:03 AM   #14
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,696
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

When i bought my 96, somebody had cut the tub and made a "trapdoor" to gain access to the pump without dropping the tank.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2011, 09:21 AM   #15
madscience
Ballsohardthatshitcray
 
madscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-10-11
Location: Caro, MI
Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapThrillB2 View Post
When i bought my 96, somebody had cut the tub and made a "trapdoor" to gain access to the pump without dropping the tank.
i've seen people do this on a couple different forums before, and my friend just did it on his explorer as well. pretty sure that's what i'm gonna do to get in there. i just hope that this is what fixes it....
madscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20905 seconds with 66 queries