D44 CAD question. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 5th, 2011, 10:06 PM   #1
semich
Member
 
semich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-11
Location: Tecumseh, Mi
Posts: 59
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default D44 CAD question.

Okay, I have a 1993 Dodge w150 with a 318. My vacuum actuator is shot on the front d44. Posi-lok sells two kits for it. One permanently locks the intermediate shaft and one has the cable. My question is if I buy the the kit that permanently locks the cad and put manual hubs on it...will the front drive shaft still spin in 2wd and ruin my tcase? Or do I need to suck it up and buy the $200 kit with the cable to keep my shit from breaking?

TYIA

Shane.
semich is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 6th, 2011, 10:48 AM   #2
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,120
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

If you put manual hubs on it then the front driveshaft won't turn.
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2011, 11:52 PM   #3
wadey
┌∩┐(_)┌∩┐
 
wadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-11
Location: White Lake / Mt. Pleasant
Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

you can lock the actuator for free, by using the stock actuator to hold the collar in place. just look for how-to's online
wadey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2011, 02:31 PM   #4
semich
Member
 
semich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-11
Location: Tecumseh, Mi
Posts: 59
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks a lot for the info guys. I ordered the Milemarker premium stainless hub kit today. I'll look into locking the cad with the actuator....it's just rusted all to hell and I want to keep crap out of the axle.
semich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.10991 seconds with 33 queries