91 Bronco engine swap - what will work? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 28th, 2011, 07:34 PM   #1
The Kaiser
Member
 
The Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-10
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 91 Bronco engine swap - what will work?

My engine died on my, and I really don't want to mess with rebuilding my old engine. So, I want to do an engine swap - almost dead 302 for a used but running 302. The problem isn't taking it out or putting the new one in...I just don't know what years of 302s will mate up to my 1991 e4od, or if the engine mounts are the same, etc etc. Any help would be much appreciated.
The Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 28th, 2011, 09:20 PM   #2
mikes06cbr
Senior Member
 
mikes06cbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-10
Location: N.E OF DETROIT
Posts: 190
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

bolt pattern are all the same and so is the 351...and as for the motor mounts just keep the ones from the bronco.and stick with the 90s 302 non ho motor. the ho was in the mustang but anything from a truck van bronco or even a full size car will work for you
mikes06cbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 09:25 AM   #3
Quiefinator
go'til itsounds expensive
 
Join Date: 02-27-07
Location: Romeo
Posts: 987
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

From everything i've read pretty much any truck/bronco EFI 302 will work as already mentioned. 351's are very similar as well only with a different flexplate.

Good luck
Quiefinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 11:47 PM   #4
The Kaiser
Member
 
The Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-10
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Would an '87 EFI 302 work? I think they have different intake manifolds and I don't know if it's completely plug-and-play.
The Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2011, 11:47 AM   #5
ATOMIC_BADBOY
Shake n Bake
 
ATOMIC_BADBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-08
Location: marne, MI
Posts: 254
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I put a 87 or 88 302 ho out of a stang in my 92 fi150. Only thing I had 2 do was put the truck intake manifold and plentum on the new engine. Becuase the mustang intake points the wrong way. And yes it was plug n play
ATOMIC_BADBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2011, 08:07 PM   #6
Daddy Dan
SBF Nut
 
Daddy Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-08
Location: Fowlerville/Michigan
Posts: 887
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

An HO motor is fine to use. A roller cam is always a good thing to have. You will need to keep your truck intake, accessories, and timing cover. If you get a complete HO with accessories, you might be able to just use them and not worry about swapping anything but the intake.
Daddy Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2011, 09:41 AM   #7
The Kaiser
Member
 
The Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-10
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The swap went well. I managed to find one out of a 91 bronco, so it all went pretty smoothly. It idles pretty high now, though. I'm not sure why. The only thing left I can think of is the intake manifold gasket might be slightly damaged at the rear. Any other ideas?
The Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2011, 10:24 AM   #8
wadshrp
Senior Member
 
wadshrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-11-10
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 680
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

timeing is off?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker the d-bag View Post
I'll trade you my trail rig for the front wheels off your joe dirtmobile.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadcooper55 View Post
Hi steveo, this is chadcooper55. I like long walks on the beach and I can take two dicks in my butt at the same time. Want to go out some time?
wadshrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2011, 11:18 AM   #9
Daddy Dan
SBF Nut
 
Daddy Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-08
Location: Fowlerville/Michigan
Posts: 887
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If you used the intake that came with the motor, check the throttle body to make sure its closing all the way. Then check vacuum lines. Also, tap the idle air control valve and see if the idle drops at all.
Daddy Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17275 seconds with 48 queries